Seui is a town in the province of Ogliastra, set in the historical-geographical area of Barbagia di Seulo, along the slopes of Gennargentu (about 800 meters asl) and surrounded by lush oak woods. The place name has pre-Roman origins: according to archaeologist Giovanno Spano derives from the Phoenician language, meaning "solitude", while according to athers derives from "seuli", referring to the hypothesis that the town was founded bt shepherds coming from Seulo.
the area was inhabited since ancient times, as important finds, dating back to the III millennium BC, reveal (nuraghi, domus de janas and giants' graves); the town was mentioned for the first time in a document of the XIV century. During the Middle Ages it belonged first to the curacy of Barbagia di Seulo and, then, to Pisa.
From the urban point of view, Seui developed around the parish church dedicated to Santa Maria Maddalena, with charming streets overlooked by XIX century palaces and country houses in schist stone with picturesque iron wrought balconies.
- Ardasai nuraghe, at about 1015 meters asl, consisting in a central tower (once taller) and other smaller ones. Not too far the remains of a huts village is still visible;
- the remains of Giants' Graves and burial circles, revealing that the area was inhabited since the pre-nuraghic period;
- the parish Church of Santa Maria Maddalena, built in the XVIII century, with a beautiful wooden altar and a XVII century baptismal font;
- the Church of San Giovanni Battista, located in the historical town center, where it is possible to admire a typical Sicilian cart, used during the procession of Our Lady of Carmelo;
- the Church of Madonna del Carmine (1920), with one nave and cotto-tiled floor;
- the country Church of Santa Lucia (XVII century);
- the country Church of San Sebastiano, close to Corongiu mine;
- the country Church of San Cristoforo (XVII century)
- Casa Farci (Farci House), today museum dedicated to the writer and political Filiberto Farci;
- the art-nouveau palace, dating back to the first years of the XX century, seat of the Ethnographic Museum dedicated to country art and civilization;
- the Spanish Prison, set in the historical town center, built in 1647 and used until 1975;
- the Civic Gallery, housed in s'Omu Comunali Civic Palace, dating back to the second half of the XIX century, with valuable XVII century paintings of Caravaggio school;
- the green train which, on request, organizes trips along the route Mandas-Arbatax and Mandas-Sorgono;
- Montarbo wood;
- Corongiu anthracite mine, used until 1963; both in Fundu ‘e Corongiu village and in the mine laveria is possible to visit all the machineries used for coal extraction and washing.