Perched on a hillside that rises at over 800 meters above sea level, the village of Bova, in the province of Reggio Calabria, features the presence of settlements since ancient times, evidenced by traces of weapons in silica of the Neolithic period, obsidian fragments and pieces of vases that date back to the first phase of the Greek colonization of Southern Italy. From the IX century A.D., the area was subject to continuous Saracen pirates and for this reason the local inhabitants decided to establish their settlements more inland. When the territories passed under the Norman rule, the population were granted with land and tax privileges in 1094, which helped the development and growth of the centre in the next century. In 1195 Enrico IV ceded the County of Bova to the Archbishop of Reggio Calabria, Guglielmo II. Bishopric until 1986, the local inhabitants continued the tradition of the religious rites in Greek until 1573.
Sites of Interest:
-the Cathedral of Santa Maria dell'Isodia, located in the upper part of the village and built on a pre-existing church of the IX century. The old church was enlarged by Bishop Martino Megali, while in the XVI and the XX century it submitted further revisions, also due to natural disasters that touched the region. The current layout features a Basilica with three naves separated by arches and marble and preserves an image of 1584 with Our Lady of the Presentation, also called Isoda, attributed to the artist Rinaldo Bonanno. The crowns of silver, located on the head of the Mother and Child are artworks of artists of Messina of the XVII;
- the remains of the Medieval Castle, located behind the Cathedral, of which traces evidence its existence since year 1000, with the presence of two round towers;
- the Sanctuary of St. Leo, rebuilt after the earthquake of 1783, on the ruins of an older building of the XVII century. Inside are preserved an XVIII century altar, artwork of the craftsmen of Messina, a silver bust of the Saint, of the same school of Messina, which covers a silver urn of the Neapolitan school;
- Palazzo Marzano, overlooking the square of the Town Hall, which was annexed to the Chapel of the Immaculate. Built in the mid-XVII century, it was opened for worship until 1969 and now desecrated. It features a single nave plan and a fine XVIII century portal on which is present the Marzano family crest.