Small mountain village in the province of Trento, located in the lower area of the Val di Fiemme, Castello-Molina di Fiemme is a beautiful town surrounded by a beautiful natural landscape, which, thanks to the varied tourist offer, allows its visitors to appreciate them in each Season of the year. During the Summer months, in fact, it is possible to take advantage and benefit from the regenerating and oxygenating outdoor walks along the mountain paths of the Val di Fiemme or Lagorai or along the bike paths that cross the entire valley. In Winter, sport fans can practice skiing in the fully equipped plants of the Val di Fiemme and in the nearby ski area of Cermis and Pampeago and ski touring along the chain of Lagorai.
Archaeological traces allow historians to attest that the Val di Fiemme was inhabited since prehistoric times, in particular, the location of Zelor, near the hamlet of Castello, was continuously inhabited from the V-VI centuries A.D., to then gradually depopulate in coincide with the migration of peoples. During the early Middle Ages the centre submitted the rule of two separate administrative entities: the Degania, consisting of family groups of German ancestry, and Villa, composed of local families. For the population that belonged to the Degania fraction, Maximilian of Hapsburg, as Count of Tyrol, in 1605, granted the reform of the uses; while those ruled by the Villa , however, continued to be part of the Magnificent Community of Fiemme, both civilly and politically.
Sites of Interest:
- the remains of the imperial era in Doss Zelor (II-IV century);
- the Church of San Giorgio, located on a hill that dominates the town and where once stood the castle of Eppan, destroyed by the villagers in 1296. Built between 1850 and 1856, it features three naves and within preserves valuable artworks of the XIX-XX centuries;
- the Church of the Holy Guardian Angels, in the village of Stramentizzo, built in 1958 to replace the former church of the XVIII century, demolished and submerged by the waters of an artificial lake. It has a modern Alpine style and houses an altar painted by Michelangelo Unterperger and two angels from the older church;
- the XIX century Church of St. Anthony of Padua, built at the cliff of the Croz Cogòl, in which are preserved important works of the XVIII and XIX centuries;
- the Shrine of Our Lady of the Lumberjacks in Piazzol, consisting of a cave with wooden statues of Our Lady of Lourdes and Bernadette with a Woodcutter kneeling in prayer in front of the Virgin;
- the Chapel of Christ the Redeemer;
- the Chapel of Our Lady of Lourdes.