A municipality of the province of Modena, home of one of the oldest castles in the Pre-Appennine area, Castelvetro di Modena is a charming and picturesque center, famous for the presence of tall towers and steeples. Located in an area inhabited since ancient times, as confirmed by the archaeological finds dating from the Palaeolithic era to the Iron and the Bronze Ages. The Etruscans were succeeded by the Gauls, that at their turn were defeated in 218 B.C. by the Romans, who in 150 BC built here a military camp "Castrum Vetus" (from which derives the town's name). In the early Middle Ages the town was also known by the nickname "Castrovetere".
Donated to Matilda of Canossa, at her death the fief was ceded to the Abbots of Nonantola, that divided the town into two areas, assigned to two illustrious families, the Beccafava and the Manfredi. Subsequently it passed to Rangoni, until the subversion of feudalism.
Sites of Interest:
- the Castle of Levizzano Rangone, mentioned for the first time in a document of 890, which describes the construction of a bulwark, built to defend the area against the continuous attacks of the Hungarians. From a simple defensive castle, around year 1000, it turned into a fortified settlement. In the XII century the structure was enlarged with the construction of the feudal palace, while in the XVI century, the whole complex was dismantled of its defensive functions and transformed into a noble residence;
- the Town Hall, also known as the "Second One", was the residence of the descendants of the Rangone Family until the advent of the Napoleonic era;
- the square plan Clock Tower, is what remains of the fortification wall on the East side of the castle;
- the Tower of Prisons, a quadrangular shaped building, located on the West side of Piazza Roma;
- Palazzo Rangoni, granted in 1330 by Pope John XXII to Jacopino Rangone, in subsequent centuries was widely used as a manor;
- the Old Parish Church of Saints Senesio and Teopompo, founded as a private chapel that belonged to the Rangoni family, was later expanded to allow the access to more faithful and pilgrims. After the building of the new parish church, it was desecrated and turned into a private residence;
- the New neo-Gothic Parish Church, built in 1897, in which are preserved several artworks of other churches and oratories of the surrounding area.