Coreglia Antelminelli is a small town in the Middle Serchio Valley; its name derives from the latin name "Corelius" and the specification "Anteminelli", added in 1862 referring to Francesco Castracani of Anteminelli, vicar of the village.
The origins date back to the Early Middle Age and during the X century it was under the control of the Rolandinghi family; it was conquered by Lucca in the next century.
In addition to the remains of the fortifications, built by Castruccio Castracani and the XI century Rocca (Fortress), we also suggest a visit to the Church of San Michele, built in the XII century next to the fortress and its tower, which was transformed into a bell tower. Inside it is possible to admire a pre-Romanesque ambo, a XV century wooden crucifix and a couple of marble statues representing Our lady and the Angel.
The pre-Romanesque Church of San Martino iso ne of the oldest Church of the Lucca area; it was realised in the IX century, enlareged in the X , in the XI and in the following centuries and it is characterised by an asymmetrical façade, due to the changes made in the XVI and XVII century.
Coreglia presents a XVI century urban structure with beautiful palaces, such as the Palazzo Comunale (1572), Palazzo Antonimi, Palazzo Vincenti and Palazzo Vanni, which houses the Museum of Plaster Figurines and Emigration.