Dicomano is a small town in the province of Florence, set on the left bank of the Sieve river, close to the confluence with the Comano river. The place name derives from the Latin word "decumanus" and it rises on an area inhabited since the Etruscan period, as many remains founded in the Frascole district reveal.
Due to its strategic position nearby important roads, the village was quarrelled for a long among different local lordships. Dicomano developed in the Middle Ages and during the XIII-th century it consolidated around a market (where the local trades took place) placed close to a castle and a parish both previously built. At that time the Guidi Counts erected a fortified castle, named "Castel del Pozzo" that in 1337 passed to the Bardi's family.
During the Xiv century it passed under the Florentine control, increasing its economic position.
In addition to the archaeological remains, founded in the Frascole district, dating back both to the Etruscan period and to the Roman one, we suggest to visit the Pieve Church of Santa maria, in Romanesque style, where it is possible to admire a valuable polychrome glazed pottery by Santi di Buslione (XVI century), the Oratory of Sant'Onofrio, in neoclassic style, by Giuseppe Del Rosso (1796), the Town Hall and the Archaeological Museum.