There are several theories on the origins of the town's name, and among the most reliable, it seems that it derives from the Latin person's name "Gallicus", while some historians attest that it comes from "Galedunum" (stronghold of the Gauls), while others associate it to the Roman term "gagium" (forest).
Mountain village in the province of Vicenza, located almost 1100 meters above sea level, Gallio is a charming centre, nestled at the foot of Mounts Melette and Longara. The territory is vast and extraordinarily rich in natural springs, for this it enjoys ideal climatic conditions. The economy is based primarily on tourism, which is active all year round, aided by the offer of several different activities and attractions.
On the origins of the town there is no absolute certainty: it is assumed that the first settlers were German. The fact that a German dialect was spoken in several towns of this area, probably was one of the fundamental historical basis of the foundation of the Regency of the Seven Towns, a state within a state with a considerable autonomy, recognized also by the Serenisima Republic of Venice, which resisted from 1310 till 1807. Mentioned in historical documents dating from the X century, Gallio was granted by Emperor Berengar to the Bishop of Padua. In the mid XVII century, the town was destroyed by a fire, but immediately rebuilt. The recent history and subsequent events have been shared with other municipalities in the province of Vicenza.
- the Church of Campanella. The first historical act, that documents the existence of the building, dates back to the late XV century. Today, it is practically impossible to set the exact date of its building, as it has been restored several times over the centuries. A small building with a gable roof, flanked by a Bell Tower with a square base with tall, narrow lancet windows and covered with a pitched roof similar to that of the church. The interior features a sober and elegant single nave plan;
- the Shrine of Our Lady of Caravaggio, also known as of the Buso, is located at a point where the Valley Franzela tends to become quite narrow. It is dominated by a bridge and is completely surrounded by nature. It is an important pilgrimage destination and features a small temple in a Classical style, preceded by a portico with pediment supported by pairs of columns. The Bell Tower, made of stone, has a square base. The belfry, with lancet windows, stands out from the main body, due to the presence of a ledge. It is complemented by a tympanum and small pinnacles. The structure was destroyed during the First World War and has been recently rebuilt.