The town's name probably derives from the Latin name of person "Iccius" or perhaps "Aescionius. Town located on the right hand side of Baltea, at less than 400 meters above sea level, in a particular position which allows Issogne to enjoy a favorable climate for its cultivation. The municipality is composed of many villages surrounded by forests.
The area was occupied by the Salassi, a strong Celt population, that were defeated by the Romans in the first century B.C. A rural manor and several other traces evidence the presence of the Romans. During the Middle Ages, with the construction of the castle, the settlement developed into a large town center. It was a possession of the Bishops of Aosta, who clashed with the Lords of Verrès for the domain on Issogne. At the end of the XIV century, the bishops, tired of the conflict, they ceded the fief to Ibleto of Challant. In 1781, the territory expanded through the annexation of the villages of Mure, Fava and Fleuran, that until then belonged to the rival municipality of Verrès. In 1853 the local inhabitants rose up against the imposition of new taxes by the government of Piedmont and the abolition of certain religious holidays. The peasant movement of Socques was severely repressed and even the parish priest, accused of backing the insurgents, was imprisoned in the fort of Bard.
Not to miss:
- the Castle of Issogne, requested by Ibleto of Challant, was built next to the bishop's tower in the XIV century. The building was renovated and took its present shape only in the XV century, thanks to George of Challant, archdeacon of the Cathedral of Aosta. Restored again in the XIX century, it has the look of a sumptuous Renaissance mansion and features, in the courtyard, a wrought iron fountain with the shape of a pomegranate, dating from the XVI century, whilst the porch proposes a series of frescoed lunettes, depicting scenes of everyday life. The building consists of fifty rooms: a large ground floor dining room and a kitchen with three large chimneys, a baronial hall with a stone fireplace adorned by the crest of Challant and features paintings on the ceiling beams and frescoes on the walls. On the first floor, there is a chapel that features frescoes and a wooden carved and gilded altar with a Flemish triptych. The second floor is distinguished by the presence of the room of the King of France and the room of the Knights of St. Maurice.
- the Church of San Solutore in Fleuran in Romanesque style. The oldest part dates from the X century and the façade features a fresco of the XV century depicting St. Christopher. Inside it preserves a wooden carved altar.
- the Parish Church of Santa Maria Assunta.
- the Chapel of Saint Suaire.