Municipality of considerable fame and cultural tourism, Laces is situated in the central part of the Val Venosta, on the edge of Stelvio National Park, a unique place, with a mild climate and the lowest rate of precipitation of the whole valley, make it the ideal destination for relaxing holidays in close contact with nature.
The name, attested since 1185 as "Lacis" originated with the German "Latsche" (pine), which in turn descended from the Latin "laqueus" (tie).
Its rich history is reflected not only by the fact that the name Laces has been identified in documents dating back to 1185, but also by the discovery, in 1992, in the Church of Santa Maria in Colle, of a menhir dating back to the period of transition from the Stone Age to the Bronze Age.
Another interesting discovery from the literary point of view, moreover, was that of an original manuscript of the saga of the Nibelungs in Castle Obermontani and now preserved in the State Library in Berlin.
The large number of castles and fortresses in the area give the more discerning visitor the impression of being back in time and relive the feeling of the age of chivalry.
In this picturesque setting, you can make beautiful walks through the many apple orchards and along the paths taken from the old irrigation canals, as well as excursions in the mountain huts for visiting the many dairies and make a stop in the huts. During the Winter, the village of San Martino in Monte, at 1740 m. above sea level, offers hiking opportunities and it is possible to enjoy the panoramic view of the magnificent glacier group Olter, the Malga Tarres, where in 2005 took place the Bob Skiing World Cup.
Sites of interest:
- the Church of SS. Peter and Paul, built in the XII century, features architectural lines ranging from Romanesque to Gothic styles. The portal was built in 1524 and inside it is possible to admire the tomb headstones of red sandstone, the wooden altar, statues of St. Anne, St. Joseph and sculptures of the Deposition in white marble positioned on an XVIII century altar;
- the Church of Santa Maria in Colle, consecrated in 1020, is characterized by architectural elements from Romanesque to Baroque. The side chapel features a cupola, while the lantern was added in 1680; Inside the church is exposed the menhir, dating back to 5000 years ago, discovered in 1992 during restoration work;
- the Church of the Holy Spirit, built between 1470 and 1520, merged with the nearby hospital in one single Gothic complex. The present Gothic triptych was painted by the Swabian artist Lederer and is one of the art treasures of South Tyrol, the frescoes date back to the first decade of the XVII century, flanked by Baroque altars and an organ of 1741;
- the Church of St. Nicholas, in Romanesque style, dates from the XIV century and houses frescoes depicting the Crucifixion, St. Nicholas and St. Christopher. It belonged to the Convent of Laces and is currently owned by the City of Laces;
- the Parish Church of St. Michael, in the village of Tarres, was mentioned for the first time in 1214. It is characterized by Romanesque frescoes and ornaments of the altar dating from different eras;
- the Church of San Carpoforo, in the village of Tarres, was donated by Emperor Frederick I of the Teutonic Order in 1214 and it houses an image of St. Carpoforo dating back to 1743. It is flanked by a Romanesque Bell Tower, which is one of the most picturesque in Val Venosta;
- the Church of St. Medardo, in the village of Tarres, called by the locals "Sommadorn", was built over a sacred source of prehistoric origin. Mention for their peculiarity: the apse covered with slabs of stone, the Romanesque bell tower and the decorated round arched window. On the portal side it is possible to admire the remains of the Roman crucifixion of the XIII century;
- the Parish Church of St. Luzius, in the village of Tiss, was transformed in 1491 in a Gothic building. Inside are preserved Gothic paintings of St. Christopher and the marble tombstone of General Franz Hendl, shown kneeling with the complete armament;
- the Parish Church of San Dionisio, in the village of Murter is a Gothic church, consecrated in 1479;
- the Church of St. Vigil, in the village of Murter, is a Romanesque building with three apses, consecrated in 1080;
- the pilgrimage Church of San Martino, mentioned in documents in 1510, is a place of pilgrimage for the farmers;
- the Chapel of St. Sebastian in Platz, in the village of San Martino, dating back to the XVI century and is characterized by the bell inserted in the front;
- the Baroque Chapel with a dome and a lantern that date back to 1713, situated in the eastern side of the town;
- the Chapel of St. Anne in Schanzen that built in the first half of the fifteenth century, contains a triptych of the late Gothic;
- the Chapel of St. Stephen, in the village of Morter, one of the most unique churches in South Tyrol. It contains frescoes dating back to XV century and on the north wall, a series of 12 pictures of the legend of St. Stephen, on the east wall, a painting depicting the Legend of St. Ursula, on the south wall, hunting scenes with St. Hubert, on the west wall , the representation of the Last Judgment;
- the Museum of Laces, in which are exhibited numerous works of art and historical;
- the War Memorial with its eagle marble memorial to the dead Tyrol in 1809;
- Coldrano Castle, whose construction was begun in 1475 by the powerful family Hendl, became a residence of the late XVI and early XVII centuries. Built on the slopes of Monte Sole, 700 meters above sea level, surrounded by vineyards and orchards, houses the cultural center of South Tyrol West, as well as exhibitions, conferences and symposia;
- the Mansion Muhlrain, decorated inside with valuable frescoes;
- Sant'Anna Castel, also known as Castle of Laces is situated above the village at 1000 meters above sea level. The castle, dating from the thirteenth century, was the residence of the Counts of Mount Sant'Anna and is still the only one in the Val Venosta to be surrounded by water. It was almost entirely destroyed by a fire in 1770 and its tower was rebuilt in 1842;
- Castel Obermontani and Castel Untermontani in the village of Murter, of which remain only ruins.