Located between Lake Garda and the Adige Valley, Mori (Moor in Tirol in German) is a town in the province of Trento, inhabited, as the whole valley of the Càmeras - since prehistoric times, as crucial trading centre for connections between the Adige and the Lake Garda regions.
Substantial and relevant are the findings unearthed in the area, dating from the Neolithic to the Bronze Age. The Ages were followed by periods of different colonization from the Romans to the Celts. The centre, however, is only mentioned for the first time in the year 845. During the Middle Ages it was subject to the domain of the Lords of Castelbarco and, later,it was assigned to Venice. Under the rule of the Serenissima Republic, Mori became a commercial center of great importance, as confirmed by the several business activities that opened here in the XVIII century;
The town's name derives from mulberry ("Morus alba", the plant that produces mulberries), due to the presence, in the XV century, of an active breeding of silkworms that, feed on mulberry leaves.
It is also famous for producing excellent wines such as: Merlot, Cabernet, Marzemino and Casteler.
Sites of Interest:
- the prehistoric sites of Corno, the Cavern of Columbus and Castelliere (fortress) di Monte Albano;
- the XII century Church of St. Stephen Deacon, enlarged and altered in later centuries. It is flanked by a bell tower with a Ghibelline spire covered in Verona style earthenware tiles and embellished by two rows of Romanesque mullioned windows;
- the Santuario di Montalbano, dedicated to the Annunciation, is characterized by the bell tower's spire and a large clock. Inside are preserved fine XVII century paintings of Gasparantonio Cavalcabò;
- the small Church dedicated to St. Fabian and St. Sebastian, in the village of Varano, built in 1537;
- the ancient Romanesque Church of St. Agatha in Nomesino, flanked by a bell tower with a pyramidal roof surmounted by an iron Cross;
- the Church of the village of Besagno, which preserves two IX century inscriptions;
- The Church of San Felice, in the hamlet of the same name, which was rebuilt in 1585;
- the ruins of the Church of San Zeno, in the district of Sano;
- the ruins of the Romanesque Church of San Biagio (XI century);
- the ruins of the medieval Castle of Castelgresta;
- the ruins of the Castle of Nomesino destroyed by the Venetians in 1439;
- the Railway;
- the bike path that leads to Lake Garda;
- the Trenches built by the Austrian army during World War I on the height of Nagia Grom;
- the splendid XVIII century buildings in the historic center (Casa Delaiti, Casa Salvadori and Casa Salvotti).