The etymology is uncertain: for some, the town's name derives from the river Sarre, for others from the words "tighten", "greenhouse" or "hence" due to the characteristic shape of the tops of the mountains. The town's center is located just over 600 meters above sea level, between the cities of Aosta, Gressan, Jovençan and Aymavilles. Part of the Comunità Montana Grand Paradis. The municipal district is crossed by the Dora Baltea and includes a large number of small chapels scattered between its hamlets, rich in history and all different from each other.
Of great importance to the castle, situated just beyond its town borders, not far from the city of Aosta, a symbol of the country and witness of the historical events of the area over the centuries. In the Summer the Fallère Valley and la Becca France are great places for hiking, whilst in Winter they are the ideal location for excursions with snowshoes. The local gastronomic activities, spend hours to please the tourists with the tastes of the traditional dishes accompanied by excellent local wines.
The territory of the Sarre was probably inhabited in the Bronze Age and traces of human settlements, in fact, have been found in various points in Ville sur Sarre, near the village of Saint Maurice and the area at the foot of the mountain, once the location of the road which connected the area with the Gallia. It is assumed that these sites were inhabited until the period of conquest by the Romans, when they were abandoned. In the medieval period Sarre was subjected to the lords and nobles of the Families of Bard and Quart. In 1783 the towns of Chesallet and Sarre were combined in a single center as until then they had been independent one from each other. The territory was for a long period under the domination of the Savoy. During the Fascist period, the town was united to Aosta, losing its autonomy, which it regained in 1946.
Not to miss:
The Parish of Sarre. The origins go back to the late XI century and the construction was requested by the Benedictines. The present building was erected in 1643 and enlarged in 1894. The bell tower dates from the late XI century and features a square base, three sets of openings, mullioned windows and a pyramidal spire.
The church contains within it a valuable wooden and partially gilt carved altar, paintings and statues. In the area behind the main altar, there is a Romanesque apse of the original building, decorated with frescoes of the XV century.
The Parish of Chesallet, probably founded in the XVI century by the Benedictines, was rebuilt in the XVII century. The bell tower is very similar to the one of Sarre and dates back to the XI century.
The Chapel of Ville sur Sarre, located in the historic center of the village, which is not far from Sarre, overlooking the valley of Aosta. Its architectural features are of great simplicity, and it preserves inside an XVIII century wooden altar with statues and cherubs, carved columns and valuable paintings.
The Chapel of Chesere, located in a town rich in pastures, it was built in 1650 and today is in a state of neglect.
The Chapel of Montana features a façade that dates back to 1734, a beam dated 1640, a polychrome wooden altar of the '700.
The Chapel Vareille, situated along the road to Ville sur Sarre, has a XIX century wooden altar and beautiful paintings of Saints.
The Chapel of Belluno, located in the village near the valley of Thoraz, dates back to 1688, and features a wooden altar of the XVIII century and statues of the late XVII century and paintings depicting saints.
The Chapel of Oveillan. The exact date of its construction is unknown but, it is was already present in documents of the early XVIII century. It houses a polychrome wooden altar of the '700.
The Chapel of Thoraz probably dates from 1630, and houses a statue of the '700 and a wooden altar dating from '600-'700.
The Chapel of San Giocondo rebuilt in the mid XVIII century. It features a gold-plated wooden altar carved from the early XIX century.
Champ's Chapel dates back to 1840.
The Castle, situated not far from Aosta, in front of the Valley of Cogne, on a hill covered with vineyards. It was built in 1242 and belonged to several owners of the Bard family, the nobles of Quart, the Savoy and the Baron of Ferrod, who had the castle refurbished radically. Subsequently it passed to a distant descendant of the Bard and in 1869 it was bought by Vittorio Emanuele II. Transformed into a hunting residence, the King decorated the walls his hunting trophies. The castle, today a museum, still features paintings and furniture of the '700 and '800.