A beautiful and charming village in the province of Ravenna, Brisighella is perched on a rocky outcrop of the Tuscan-Romagna, on the road that connects Florence to Ravenna. On the origin of the name there are three theories: for some historians it derive from the Celtic-Lombard word "brix" (steep place), for others from the late Latin "Brisca" (spongy earth) and, finally, according to a third school of thought, from "brassica" (cabbage).
The village's origins date back to 1200, when the leader Maghinardo Pagani erected a Castle on one of the three peaks of selenite, which formed the most important stronghold of the Valley of Lamone. In the XIV century, the Manfredi, Lords of Faenza, began building of a castle on the second peak. After a short period of occupation by Cesare Borgia, Brisighella was ruled by the Venetians, who later ceded their rights to the Papal States. In 1860, after the defeat of the Austrian troops, it was incorporated into the Kingdom of Italy.
Sites of Interest:
- the ancient Via del Borgo, a typical medieval street, unique in its way, illuminated by arches of different sizes, known also as Via degli Asini (the donkey trail), to remember the animals' hard work, carrying material from the nearby quarries in order to built the town centre;
- the Manfredi and Venetian Fortress, located on one of the three pinnacles of rock, is composed of a Torricino (small Watchtower), built by Manfredi of Faenza in 1300, and a Venetian fortress dating from the XVI century. A splendid example of medieval military architecture, today houses the Rural Farming Museum;
- the Clock Tower, a defensive rampart dating to 1290, which was rebuilt twice, the first time in the XV century and, later, in the XIX century;
- the Sanctuary of Monticino, located on the third peak of Brisighella and was built in the XVIII century;
- the Collegiate Church of San Michele Arcangelo, completed in 1697, features a beautiful bronze doorway and, inside preserves a XVI century wooden crucifix, a multi-colored neo-Baroque altar and a painting of the artist Marco Palmezzano of Forlì (XVI century);
- the Church of Santa Maria degli Angeli, dating from the XVI century, is situated along the main road to Florence. Inside it is possible to admire a painting of Palmezzano and a sculpture of the Piety by Giuseppe Rosetti;
- the Church of Tho, the oldest church in the Valley of Lamone. Its building origins can be traced back to the times of Galla Placidia, daughter of Theodosius, and is the result of building materials, taken from an ancient pagan temple dedicated to Jupiter Ammon. The construction period is between the VIII and X centuries. Built in the Romanesque style, it features a Basilica plan with three naves divided by columns. Each part of the building is different, likely due to the reuse of material). Inside, it is possible to admire a Corinthian capital (now used as holy water stoop) of the I century A.D., a Roman landmark, a VIII century slab, several paintings and other material uncovered during the recent excavations.