Town in the province of Parma, located at just 11km from the provincial main center, Collecchio is a charming city nestled between the hills and plains and features two natural parks: the Taro River Regional Park and the Carrega Woods Regional Park. The territory of the former "Colliculum" (which in Latin means small hill) was inhabited since the Paleolithic period. After the fall of the Roman Empire it was subjected to the temporal power of the Bishops of Parma (in several parchments, preserved in the State Archives of Parma, Collecchio is often cited as a thriving agricultural center), while the discovery of the tombs of the Lombard period attest their presence in the area. Its position along the Via Francigena, contributed to the flourishing of churches and homes for the rest of the pilgrims. Between 1200 and 1500 Collecchio was scenario of famous battles, all linked to the history of Parma and the names of Frederick II, the families of the Visconti, the Rossi and the Sforza Pallavicini. In 1545 Parma was proclaimed Duchy under the Farnese. At that time, the Farnese family implemented a land register, whose volumes are deposited in the Archives of the State of Parma, and inside which are stated the boundaries and the names of all the land owners. In 1777, Collecchio was proclaimed fief and assigned to the family Dalla Rosa-Prati. Following the plebiscite, that took place between 14 and 21 August of 1859, Collecchio was annexed to the Kingdom of Sardinia under the Constitutional Government of Vittorio Emanuele II.
Sites of Interest:
- the Church of San Prospero, built in the XI century in Romanesque-Lombard style, is a basilica with three naves and apses. Outstanding are the bronze door with panels depicting the death and resurrection of Christ, the baptismal font (XI-XII century) in the Romanesque style and a marble statue of the XII century, depicting the Baptism of Jesus;
- the Oratory of Our Lady of Loreto, built in 1709 in Baroque style;
- the Church of the village of Lemignano, already mentioned in 1141 and rebuilt from scratch in 1837;
- the Church of the village of Madregolo, dating back to 1634, within which are preserved Roman capitals with 4 symbols of the Evangelists;
- Villa Nevicati, immersed in the beautiful city park Fortunato Nevicati;
- Villa Papaveri-Fontana, built in the XVII century on a pre-existing structure of the XVI century. It features a monumental arched entrance, called "Arco del Bargello", which also marks the entrance to the park.