The name derives from the Latin "curia Major" (large Parish) . A tourist center known and appreciated internationally, Courmayeur is located in a valley dominated by Mont Blanc at 1224 meters above sea level, between fir and larch trees, mountains and glaciers. Crossed by the Dora Baltea, is the most Western located town of the Val d'Aosta, the last before arriving in France via the Mont Blanc. It is composed by the districts of Dolonne (connected by two bridges to Courmayeur). Entrèves (located in a plain at the confluence of the Val Veny and Val Ferret between which fows the Dora Baltea at 1,300 meters above sea level), Entrelevie, La Palud, Larzey, La Saxe, La Villette, Villar Dessous, Villar Dessus, Planpincieux.
Courmayeur is located a short distance from Mount Chetif, famous for a statue of the Virgin placed on its top and visible from the entire valley. The town combines, recreation, food, history, extraordinary landscapes and provide opportunities to practice all the different Winter sports, thanks to the fully equipped ski resorts, the ski slopes and ski trails.
The earliest inhabitants of the area, that populated the whole region in pre-Roman times, were the Salassi, the union of the local tribes and Celts, that arrived in Val d'Aosta region between the VIII and V centuries B.C. from central Europe. This population of strong warriors was defeated by the Romans, that arrived in the area in the I century B.C. Enslaved, they were deprived of their lands that were distributed among the invading centurions and their soldiers. Courmayeur became a Roman military station and assumed the name of Auri Foedinae, perhaps because of the gold mines in the nearby. During the medieval period it was renamed Curia Major and became the subject of contention among the many noble families of the surrounding valleys. In the XVII century the town started to gain notoriety thanks to its healing waters and its unique location at the foot of Mont Blanc, an excellent starting point for excursions to the surrounding peaks.
Not to miss:
The Parish Church of San Pantaleone. The current building was built in 1722 on the ruins of the previous one, partially demolished. Of the original building remains only the bell tower, whose construction date is unknown, it is assumed that it goes back to the XI or XII century. Inside the original unique central nave has been separated by two aisles.
The Sanctuary of Notre Dame de la Guérison at the entrance of the Val Veny.
The Tower Maluquin, built in the XII century.
The Alpine Museum Duca degli Abruzzi, which preserves relics of the most famous alpine conquests.
The XIV century buildings in Dolonne.
The XIV century fortified house, restored in the XVIII century, located in Entrèves.