The town's name derives from the Latin word "Alnus (alder). It is a mountain village which lies at the mouth of the Valley of Champorcher on the left hand side of the river Ayasse and on the right hand bank of the Dora Baltea. The town stretches across the plain in front of the fortress of Bard, and enjoys a mild climate that favors the cultivation of vineyards, orchards and vegetable gardens. In addition to its agricultural activities, recently, small industrial activities have spread in the area. Among the culinary specialties the town offers a particular type of bread: the micooula, a rye bread enriched with chestnuts, walnuts, raisins, dried figs or chocolate chips already known in medieval times.
The presence of a settlement in the area of Hone goes back to the late Bronze Age and Iron Age: evidenced by antique paths, rocks bearing engravings and traces of prehistoric dwellings. Recent studies have shown the probable Roman presence in the area. During the Middle Ages the territory of Hone belonged to the powerful family of the Bard, while in the second half of the XIII century it was divided between Savoy and the lords of Pont Saint Martin. In 1592 the Duke of Savoy granted the jurisdiction of the area to the nobles Bruyset and in 1684 the count Marelli. In the town metallurgical activities were one of the major activities: forges and foundries in the first instance, metallurgical industries then, including the Fabrique des Clous, founded at the beginning of the XX century.
Not to miss:
The Parish Church of San Giorgio. The date of construction is unknown, but it was quoted in a historical document of 1412 with a full description of the structure, which still presents itself still similar to today. During the XVIII century the expansion of the structure was decided, considering the insufficient capacity space for the number of the faithful, and so at the beginning of 1700 a chorus was added, a few years later a vestry, in 1836 the constructors proceeded to restructure and adapt the Internal building, considered structurally irregular. The interior features three naves and the decorations were made by the brothers Artari of Verres, the main altar of 1722 features carvings, columns and statues of saints, attributable to Valsesian Gilard. Of the same period and the same authors is the altar dedicated to Saint Anthony Abbot, whilst the altar of the Virgin of the Rosary (1835), is the work of sculptor James Baldarelli, who also prepared the walnut octagonal pulpit, built in 1837 with panels depicting the legend of St. George. The portal and forum for the choir, feature images that represent the apostles on the balustrade, that were started by Baldarelli and completed by Giacomo Molino. The original Bell tower of the Middle Ages has been replaced by a new building of 1730.
The Museum of Sacred Art, housed inside the church, gathers works from most of the chapels in the area, including a bas-relief depicting St. George dating back to the XV century, the statue of Santa Margherita of the second half of the XVIII century, the statue Our Lady of Victories, of 1623, the statues of Saints Grato, Michele and Giuseppe of the XVIII century, a XVI century bas-relief in wood depicting the Madonna della Misericordia, pieces of the furniture of the XVIII century, reliquaries of the XVII-XVIII century and vestments of the same period.
The Chapel of Vareyna, located at the center of the town, was built in 1632 and preserves inside an altar of 1829.
The Chapel of San Rocco in Priod built in 1665 and rebuilt in its present form in 1901, inside an altar of white marble of Carrara.
The Chapel of Saint Lucia, already existing in 1745, was rebuilt in the early XX century.
The Chapel in the village of Biel, entitled to St. Anthony of Padua and already existing in 1666, it was rebuilt in 1684.
The Chapel in the village of Courtil is dedicated to Santa Margherita. It was built in 1775 and enlarged in 1900.
The Chapel of St. Grato near Hone, built in the first half of the XVIII century and enlarged in 1864.
The Palazzo Marelli, located next to the parish church. It is a feudal residence of late XVII century, which belonged to the Marelli Family.