The name derives from the Latin name of a person "Laelius". The municipal district is composed of many villages arranged on both sides of the river Lys. The town is located on the border with the Piedmont region and its nearby territories of Biella and Turin, and also nearby to other important centres of the Valle d'Aosta, such as: Fontainemore, Issime and Perloz. The right hand side of the town is particularly steep, with districts perched on the mountain, where it is possible to find traditional constructions in timber and stone. The Eastern part of the town is less sharp and is characterized by large slopes. The town offers the opportunity to practice various sports: climbing, skiing, mountain bike, tennis, soccer, hiking with snowshoes. Interesting is the tour going up to Lera Nova, that follows an uphill goat trail to Mount Riasseu and from where it is possible to admire beautiful examples of rural architecture: houses built in dry stone, a water spring and a Stadel (a small wooden building of the Barme). Another important itinerary brings to the village of Sarron, a handful of typical houses located between the valley of Marsura and the valley of Foby. Particularly suggestive is the waterfall on the stream Bouro, located in a forest, which creates a natural basin surrounded by rocks, and the gold mine of Revers, a tunnel of about ten meters into the rock from where, in the XIX century, gold was extracted.
The history of Lillianes is linked to Valleise Family, who dominated the lower valley of the Lys from the Middle Ages until the XVIII century. In 1614 it became an autonomous community with its own Parish, but only in 1762 it was finally separated from the town of Perloz and became independent. The definition of municipal boundaries was a very long and complicated process. Until the middle of last century the local farming industry offered the highest production of chestnuts in the region.
Not to miss:
The Parish Church of San Rocco, built from 1723 on an existing chapel, that was built in 1490, inside it preserves a main altar in Baroque style created by sculptors Gilardi of Campertogno between 1763 and 1770 and other altars, three of which already present in the older church. The same sculptors were the architects of the balustrade of the carved wood choir, and a walnut wood pulpit with five wooden carved statues. The bell tower, built in 1617, is 11 meters high and topped by four small pinnacles and an octagonal spire.
The Chapel of Santa Margherita in the district of Chessun.
The Chapel of Suc on the left side of the river Lys.
The Chapel of Riasseau.
The bridge dates back to 1733, the only example in Valle d'Aosta of a bridge with four arches.