Iglesias with Carbonia is one of the main cities of their province. The city is located near Mount Marganai and its history is based on its mining traditions: archeological studies evidence that the mineral resources of the area attracted merchants and traders since the Phoenician and the Punic Ages. Even for the Roman Empire the mines had an important role for their economy.
Even though the district was inhabited sine the Old Ages, the urban centre (known as Villa Ecclesiae, later Iglesias during the Aragon domination) was built in the XIII century by the Lords of Pisa, that surrounded the city with a fortified wall, of which long pieces still stand. In the Old City centre with its wonderful buildings in Liberty and Déco styles, arises the Gothic Cathedral of Santa Chiara, started in 1285 and completed in 1288 as from its inscriptions.
Of major interest is also the Church of San Francesco, with hosts a series of paintings of the second half of '500 of a workshop of Cagliari.
The pumping heart of the modern city are: the square Sella, where the Monument of Quintino Sella (1885) of the artist Giuseppe Sartorio is on show and the nearby square Oberdan, where the Monument entitled to the soldiers Lost in War (1928) of Francesco Ciusa.
Near to these squares lies the Art of Mining Museum, an illustrated walk through gallery,which hosts evidence and instruments of the local mining history with a precious collection of exhibits, machinery, reproductions, old photos, documents and interviews.