The first settlement of Lamporecchio, set on the eastern limits of Valdinievole, along the scope of Montalbano, dates back to the Roman period; however the village developed during the Middle Age, around a castle built by the Bishops of Pistoia, who exercised the jurisdiction until the XIII century. Between the end of the XIII century and the XVI century, lamporecchio was contested between Lucca, Florence and Pistoia, passing from one to another city until 1531, when it was defintely annexed to the Republic of Florence.
The Church of Santo Stefano, of medieval origins, was rebuilt during the XX century, designed by the architect Bernardini, in florentine renaissance style. It Is still possible to admire the original belltower, the Baroque style chapel of the baptismal font, a XVII century wooden crucifix and a glazed polychrome terracotta bas-relief by Giovanni della Robbia.
We also suggest to visit the Vitoni tower which, together with the Porciano towers and the fortification of the Montefiori hill, was part of the defensive structure of the Valdinievole area; the Oratory of Madonna delle Grazie (XVII century), the Church of San Baronto, destroyed during the Second World War, with a beautiful ancient crypt and IX century pre-Romanesque style columns, and the Church of Santa Maria Assunta, built during the barbaric period, with XIII and XIV century frescoes, a marble bas-relief made by Donatello's school and a XIV century wooden statue.