At the edge of the Piana Rotaliana, Mezzolombardo (Welschmetz in German) is a town in the province of Trento, located at the foot of Mount Fausior, in an area devoted to wine production. The most famous is Teroldego, an intense flavored ruby red, wine, mentioned for the first time in a deed of 1480.
Inhabited since the dawn of prehistory, in Roman times with the building of a main road, branch of the Via Claudia Augusta, it permitted the connection with the whole Aunania (now Val di Non), on the edge of the Adige Valley. In 1271, historians report of the existence of a hospice with a church dedicated to St. Christopher's located near the Lock of Rocchetta. Subsequently, in defense of its bridge, a fortification was built, equipped with a duty toll. Located on the border of the Principality-Bishop of Trento, the town enjoyed a certain autonomy and adopted, in 1584, its first "series of regulations", that codified the traditional uses.
The town, guarded by the imposing castle and the ancient Church of St. Peter, at the foot of Mount Fausior, offer to its visitors a wide range of gastronomic excellence, the peace and relaxation which always distinguish the localities in Trentino and an unspoilt natural landscape.
Sites of Interest:
- the prehistoric sites in the localities of Nogarole, Calcare, Giare and by the shelter La Rupe, which all date back to the Mesolithic, the Neolithic and the Bronze Ages;
- the Roman sites of Toresela, Calcara and on Colle San Pietro;
- the medieval sites near Palazzo Thun;
- the Tower Castle, which dominates the town of Mezzolombardo, was built where once stood a fortification that guarded the road linking with Val di Non. The present building dates back to the XVI century and includes, in addition to a watchtower, dungeons and a palace, a small church dedicated to Saint Apollonia, consecrated in 1619. It is now privately owned and not open to visitors;
- the XII century Church of St. Peter, which has been altered and enlarged in the following centuries. The main entrance is a pointed arch with elegant moldings, the interior features a single nave divided into five bays, lit by large Gothic windows and circular windows of the apse. The monumental main altar is made of painted wood and dates back to the XVII century, as well as the altarpiece. It also houses the tombstones of the most important families of Mezzolombardo;
- the Convent of the Franciscan Friars and the attached Church entitled to the Immaculate Conception, built where once stood a votive shrine dedicated to Our Lady, and now saved in an enclosed wooden altar showcase;
- the XVII century Baroque style Church of the Addolorata in Borghetto;
- the XVIII century Church of Our Lady of Grace;
- the Church of St. John the Baptist, built between 1846 and 1850, is divided into three naves. The structure is flanked by a tall Bell Tower 34m high, the last witness of the existing church, with a roof spire;
- Casa Ambrosi with its XVIII century façade;
- Fort Rocchetta, an Austro-Hungarian fortress, of which only few ruins;
- the Provincial Nature Reserve of La Rupe.