Located at the foot of Mount Pollino, the first trace of the existence of the village is evidenced by a military headstone of the III century BC, with the word "Muranum" engraved, located between the stations of the via Popilia, which links Capua to Reggio Calabria. During the X and XI centuries the town was chosen as settlement by the Muslim invaders, which justifies the Moorish profile on the city's coat of arms. The village has maintained intact over time its late medieval appearance, with narrow streets and staircases carved into the rock. Morano is one of the most important centers of the Pollino National Park.
Sites of Interest:
- the Church of Saints Peter and Paul, preceded by a courtyard, from where it is possible to admire a splendid view over the valley. The church was founded around 1007 and underwent major renovations between the XII and XVIII centuries, and today it features practically nothing of the original structure. Among the art works preserved inside, worthy of mention are the marble sculptured groups of Saint Catherine with Saint Lucia (1592) and St. Peter with St. Paul (1602) by Pietro Bernini;
- the Church of St. Nicholas of Bari, built in the XV century and features two buildings placed on each other: the lower part, dedicated to Santa Maria delle Grazie, dates back to the XII-XIII centuries, while the upper part is dedicated to San Nicola di Bari and features a Gothic style façade. The interior preserves late Baroque stucco decorations;
- the Collegiata of Mary Magdalen, founded in medieval times on the ruins of an ancient XVIII century chapel and has been substantially refurbished. The façade, in Neoclassical style, built in 1844, is revived by the polychrome tiles that cover the dome and the spire of the tower. Inside are preserved a group of wooden choir stalls of the XVIII century and a carved statue of Our Lady of the Angels (1505), artwork of the artist Antonello Gagini. The church also keeps four leather altarpieces of the Venetian school;
- the Church of St. Bernardino of Siena, founded in 1452, which underwent major rearrangements during the XVIII and XIX centuries, while recent renovations have tried to restore to its original structure. The church features at the entrance, a portico with four arches, on whose walls there are traces of frescoes;
- the Fountain located in the main square, which dates back to 1590;
- the XVII and XVIII century historical noble residences, such as Palazzo D'Agostino and Palazzo Rocco.