Town in the province of Cosenza, according to some historians the origin of its name derive from the Latin name of a person "Spetius", to which later was added the suffix "anus" to indicate membership (of Spetius). The first settlement was founded in the IX century by the refugees from Cosenza, forced to leave their homeland to escape from the Saracen incursions. Ceded in 1644 to Grand Duke of Tuscany, the population escaped this rule three years later, with the revolt of Celico. The population also strongly opposed to the French conquest, supporting the Bourbons. In 1799 it was proclaimed Municipality and was included in the County of Cosenza.
Sites of Interest:
- the Church of San Biagio, of ancient origins (probably XIII century), although the earliest records date back to 1402, contained in the Vatican Summary of Calabria. Rebuilt in Baroque style after the earthquake of 1870, of the old building remains the pointed arch and part of the ancient columns in tuff stone;
- the Church of San Pietro, documented since 1425;
- the monastery founded by St. Francesco of Paola, around 1450-54, together with the church, the third in chronological order of those built by this Saint in Calabria. It houses several valuable XVIII century paintings;
- Comigliatello Silano, situated at 1300 meters altitude, is a popular ski resort, with ski lifts, ski tracks and trails between beautiful natural landscapes and forests. Ideal climatic station in Summer and early Autumn for hiking and trekking fans.