It is a town in the province of Matera, located in an area inhabited since the VIII century B.C., as evidenced by several finds, recently brought to light. The village, however, has Norman origins and the name is dedicated to a Benedictine monastery, built in the area and entitled to St. Mauro, while the name "Fort" was added later in 1861 to commemorate the courage of the inhabitants in repelling the attacks of bandits led by the Spanish commander Börjes. The town belonged to the County of Montescaglioso and from the XV century onwards it submitted the domination of various feudal families.
Not to miss:
- the remains of the Castle, built during the Norman period and later restored by the Anjou, of which remain only a three-story cylindrical tower;
- the XVI century Church of Santa Maria Assunta, in which are preserved valuable paintings of the XVIII century;
- the Church of the Annunciation, built in the XVI century by the Franciscan monks, with an adjoining convent;
- the Church of St. Mary of the Angels (also known as Chapel of the Rosary or Saint Lucia), of ancient origins;
- the XVIII century Church of St. Vincent, with an interesting majolica tiled floor and an XVIII century organ;
- the noble palaces, such as Palazzo Arciaerie (today seat of theTown Hall) and Palazzo Lauria, famous for its superb Baroque style portal.