Sannicola, till 1908, was district of the city of Gallipoli and so up until this date, the town submitted the same destiny of the Ionian city.
The Basilian monks settlement of small fortified farm houses, built between X and XI centuries, around the Church of San Nicola, was destroyed more than one time during the raids of the Turks, the Venetians and the French (these last with the help of the local feudal Lords, hostile to Gallipoli).
The refurbishments started in 1640 when the cleric Domenico Musurù decide to rebuilt on the ruins of the old district a small chapel that was entitled to the Santo di Mira.
The main church is entitled to the Madonna delle Grazie, built in late '700 and was enlarged in the beginning of the XX century.
In the nearby lands it is possible to admire important manor farms and lords houses (most of them are along the road to Alezio), that represent the artistic guidelines of the local owners of the past and their desire to convince the community of their politic and economic wealth.