Ancient town of the Val di Non, situated on the verdant plateau between the Rio San Romedio and Rì Mar, Sazeno, in the province of Trento, is a picturesque village dedicated to the cultivation of apples which, nevertheless, has historical roots that date back to the Bronze Age, when the area was inhabited by the Rhaetian, as evidenced by numerous archaeological finds of the VI century B.C. In Roman times, the village took the name of Metho and, in 397, was the scene of the killing of Cappadocian bishops Sisinnio, Martyrdom and Alexander, sent there by the bishop of Trent, St. Vigil, to evangelize the population, then still pagan. The name, in fact, derives from San Sisinnio, later transformed into the Sanzeno.
Sites of Interest:
- the archaeological remains of Roman and Rhaetian ages, brought to light in the territory of Sanzeno, although only a few are on display in the permanent exhibition of the city (most of them, in fact, are preserved in the museums of Trento and Innsbruck);
- the Castel of Casez, overlooking the homonymous village, retains its style castle, despite extensive alterations XIX century, it has been reported for the first time in the XIII century, when it was part of the feud Bracherio of Coredo. It is currently privately owned.
- the several noble houses, embellished with elegant portals, mullioned windows and Renaissance frescoes (Casa Bertoldi, Casa Gerio, Casa Sarcletti, Casa de Concini);
- the XVI century Residenza De Gentili, to which houses a priceless collection of vintage furniture and tools, as well as an internal pharmacy, open in summer;
- the Basilica of the Holy Martyrs of Sanzeno, built in Gothic-Renaissance style on the site of a pagan temple dedicated to the god Saturn and where, presumably, martyr site of the three Cappadocian Bishops: Sisinnio, Martyrdom and Alexander. The building was built on the orders of the prince-bishop of Trent, Giovanni Hinderbach in 1472, replacing the previous basilica, in whose crypt are preserved the relics of the Three Saints. The portal, in Romanesque-Renaissance style, was designed by the artist Giacomo Mookadoha and is topped by a bezel on which is painted the image of the Madonna and Child and the three martyrs. The interior is in Gothic style, divided into three naves by eight stone columns clear the apse has a pentagonal shape, while the XVIII century altar is surmounted by an altarpiece of the artist Giambattista Lampi, depicting the glory of the Three Saints. The XV century bas-reliefs, once kept in the Basilica and depicting the martyrdom of the three Saints are now on display at the Diocesan Museum of Trent;
- the Sanctuary of San Romedio, whose existence has been documented since the XII century, consists of a complex of buildings that climb along a rock wall. The oldest chapels are those situated more to the top and inside are preserved the relics of St. Romedio;
- the Church of St. Alexander, built, according to tradition, the site of the first chapel and the home of the Martyrs;
- the Church of Santa Maria, dating from the year 1000, with an adjoining hospice;
- the small Church of St. Celestine, in the Gothic style, with a beautiful series of frescoes depicting the Passion of Christ (1461), by Master Leonardo da Bressanone;
- the Rhaetian Museum, which features the phases of building of the historical route of the Val di Non, from prehistory to the High Middle Ages.