Town in the province of Catanzaro, overlooking the Gulf of Squillace, from its dominant location on the promontory called "Coscia di Stalettì", it enjoys an exceptional view over the coastline. There is no official evidence of the possibility of the presence of a Greek or Roman settlement on Mons Moscius (the ancient name of the promontory, now known as Coscia di Stalettì), while what is certain is that in ancient times the territories were under the rule of the nearby city of Skylletion / Scolacium. Near the river Vulcano, in the district of Chillino, traces of an ancient spring sanctuary have been found, dating from the V century B.C. and the Roman period. Of the III century B.C., are the defensive walls unearthed during the excavations of the Byzantine "castrum" of Santa Maria del Mare. Close to the cliff stood a time an imperial villa belonging to the Aurelii and was a Summer residence of the famous Cassiodorus.
The name appears for the first time in a medieval document of 1202 and it seems to derive from the greek "stalacté" (stalactite).
Sites of Interest:
- the archaeological site of Santa Maria del Mare, which is also the site of the medieval city of Scolacium. The Byzantine city occupied the eastern end of the promontory of Stalettì, dominating the entire Gulf of Squillace from Capo Rizzuto to Punta Stilo. The site was already fortified in the Greek era (IV-VI .B.C), with a powerful barrage (3 m thick) that protected the weaker side, facing to the North of the rocky outcrop, with a square watch tower. Of the Greek era, a large quantity of pottery has been found within the fortress boundaries. The site was abandoned after the Roman conquest of Bruttium;
- the remains of a Vivarium (a large pool for rearing fish) near the villa of Aurelia, that later became famous for the presence a "monasterium" entitled to Cassiodorus;
- the remains of the Church of Santa Maria de Vetere Squillacio, built on the hill of Santa Maria;
- the remains of the Mother Church, that for a long time, was the reference point of the religious life of Stalettì. Originally built in the XVI century, it was badly damaged following the earthquakes of 1783 and 1832;
- the coastal towers (Torre Regia, Torre of Stalettì, Torre Elena and Torre del Palombaro);
- the church of San Martino, perched on a cliff at the foot of the promontory, which features in a corner of the apse, the so-called Tomb of Cassiodorus.