Town in the province of Milan, situated on the banks of the Naviglio Grande, south-west of Milan, Trezzano sul Naviglio until the sixties of the XX century was essentially an agricultural town. The town's name reveals its probable Roman origins (it is assumed that in the beginning, it was a fund owned by a certain Tersius). The village is mentioned for the first time in a document in 839, comprising a recognition of inheritance for the Monastery of Saint Ambrose of a farm in the locality of Gnignao and among the signatories appears the name "Angelfrit from Treciano. In the XII century, when the family of De Advocate lost their heritage, their properties were divided between the Monastery of Saint Ambrose and other local lords, whilst the Parish of Trezzano was added to the lands of the Parish of Cesano Boscone. In 1653 it was given in fief to Louis Ponce de Leon, who later donated the lands to Pietro Landolina.
Not to miss:
- The Church of Sant'Ambrogio, built between the IX and the XIII centuries and expanded in the XVI century. The building is flanked by a tower, built in 1582 by Martino Bassi. Inside it preserves an exquisite "Madonna and Child" of the artist Luini;
- The Parish of San Lorenzo, built in the middle of last century in the district Zingone. This district is also were the massive urbanization of the municipality developed.