Town in the province of Monza and Brianza, in the water catchment area of the Lambro, Usmate Velate was founded by the union of two separate municipalities of Usmate and Velate Milanese. Located between the River Lambro and the stream Molgora the town, immersed in the green of the countryside, with picturesque landscapes, presents some typical characteristics of the rural Brianza area and has hosted, over the centuries, the residences of many nobles of the nearby Milan.
Among the main sights worth of mention:
- The chapel of San Felice, in the cemetery of Velate, built around 1851 on a design of the engineer Giacomo Moraglia. It is a monumental tomb, built in neo-Classical style, on demand of the Countess Maria Beatrix of Barbiano, Princess of Belgioioso d'Este, to house the remains of the deceased husband Count Giorgio Giovanni Giulini della Porta, and later used as a permanent burial location for all the members of their family.
- The Church del Dosso, with its characteristic circular plan, built in the early XIX century and privately owned until 1963: it is dedicated to Our Lady del Carmelo;
- The Parish of St. Margaret, formerly entitled to the bishop San Zenone, was part of the plebeian Parish of Vimercate. It was officialized as a parish in 1571 by decree of St. Charles Borromeo. The lower part of the old bell tower dates back to 1100. The present building dates from the thirties of the XX century, built in Romanesque-Lombard style.
- The Parish of Santa Maria Assunta, built in the fifties and designed by Arch. Bettoli;
- Villa Borgia, once residence resort of the Counts Borgia, rebuilt in the XIX century, today it is the seat of the City Council;
- Villa Scaccabarozzi, a beautiful XVIII century building;
- Villa Ala Ponzone, once belonged to the noble family of Cremona, and today home to a nursery school.