Barbiano (Barbian in German) is a picturesque mountain village in the province of Bolzano, located in the southern part of the Inn Valley, surrounded by vineyards, chestnut forests, meadows and forests and enjoys a splendid view over the Dolomites. It extends from the valley up to the Rittner Horn, with a drop altitude that allows its visitors to admire the rich flora and fauna of the area, the nature, the well-maintained footpaths,. In winter, the snow-covered slopes of the Ritner Horn are at hand.
Although the town was mentioned for the first time in a deed of the year 855, the Roman name has clear origins and derives from the Latin name "Barbius", the probable owner of the lands. It has always been a single political unit with the neighboring town of Villandro, until 1810, when the administration was separated, becoming an autonomous municipality.
For its relaxing and rejuvenating atmosphere, it was chosen as resort also by Sigmund Freud and Christian Morgenstern.
Sites of Interest:
- the Parish Church of San Giacomo Maggiore in Barbiano, with its characteristic leaning bell tower with its octagonal spire, documented since 1378. The Gothic choir serves as a sacristy, while in the main altar it is possible to admire a copy of the Crucifixion of Wechselburg, also worthy of mention: the twelve stained glass windows depicting the apostles, the rose window on the entrance portal and sculptures of the XVI and XVII centuries;
- the Chapel of the Holy Sepulchre, built in the XVII century next to the farm of Wohlaufhof;
- the Church of San Leonardo, in Colma, with a bell tower added in front, enlarged in the XVII century with the addition of two side chapels;
- the XVI century Church of SS. Trinity, in Colma, connected by a wooden corridor to the customs building. Destroyed by fire in 1938, it was quickly rebuilt;
- the Church of the Holy Ingenuino and Albuino in Saubach, documented since 1398;
- the district of Three Churches, which developed around three adjoining chapels: the Church of St. Gertrude, mentioned as early as 1237, the Church of St. Nicholas and the Church entitled to Mary Magdalene;
- the Castle of Friedburg, built by Archduke Sigismund of Austria, was used as the customs house;
- the nature trail along the Rio Gander leading to waterfalls of Barbiano, the last of which features a water drop of about 80m.