Val di Vizze (Pfitsch in German) is a town in the province of Bolzano, located in the homonymous valley, surrounded by mountains and glaciers, rolling hills and green pastures, ideal for those who are looking for a quiet and relaxing, contact with nature at times still untouched, where it is possible to make nice outdoor walks along the well-marked mountain trails or take easy hikes at high altitudes, up to the majestic Great Pillar (3510 meters).
In Winter, skiers can enjoy skiing and snowboarding down the snow-covered slopes of the ski areas of Val d'Isarco.
The valley is also appreciated by geologists and collectors to the large amount of crystals and minerals found on the surrounding mountains.
The historical origins of Pfitsch are very old and date back to the prehistoric period, as revealed by finds traced in Burgstall and Gschleihboden. Interested by the Roman occupation, the settlement grew gradually, between the VI and VII centuries, under the domain of the Bbaiuvara. The town's name, already attested in 1186, according to one school of thought derives from the Latin word "ficta" (inflicted pole), while according to another, from the Germanic "pits" (well).
From the XV to the XVIII centuries, the main economic activity of the town was linked to mining.
Sites of Interest:
- the Parish Church of the Holy Cross, in Wiesen, mentioned for the first time in 1337;
- the octagonal Chapel dedicated to the Holy Cross, built in the second half of the XVII century by Daniel von Elzenbaum zu Weisenheim;
- the Chapel of St. John the Baptist in Flaines;
- the Chapel of Our Lady of Sorrows (new cemetery chapel) in Vizze, built in 1887, in which it is possible to admire an XVIII century life-size statue of the "Pity" and a war memorial, artwork of Hugo Atzwanger;
- the Parish of Camminata in Vizze di Fuori, whose Bell Tower is adjacent to the ancient Church of the XIV century;
- the Church of Our Lady of Sorrows in San Giacomo of Val di Vizze, in Gothic style, mentioned for the first time in 1577, in the second half of the XVIII century was equipped with a frescoed barrel vault;
- the Church of San Giacomo (1821-1824);
- the Tower of Vizze, mentioned in 1290, destroyed by an avalanche and then rebuilt;
- the Castle of Moos, one of the oldest buildings in the town that today is a home for the elderly;
- the Palace of Wiesenheim
- the Biotype of Sanderau;
- the Biotype of Palude Lago di Vizze;
- the Waterfall of Unterbergbach;
- the mineral deposits.