The first part of its name derives from the presence of a fortress in the town, while the second part recalls the family that bought the territories in 1589. Municipality in the province of Cuneo, in the Langhe area of Piedmont, located on a hill completely surrounded by orderly rows of vines, the town is concentrated in a circular shape around the castle. The small shops of the main center have a delicatessen tradition.
The town has ancient origins: the discovery of a plaque inside the castle evidences the presence of Romans at the times of the Empire. In the Middle Ages it belonged to the Marquis of Saluzzo, to which succeeded several noble families linked to the Aleramicis, such as the Falletti, the Claretti and the Vassallo of Dogliani. The construction of the fortress in the XIII century was ordered by Berthold Falletti, while the Vassallo dealt with the renovation of the building in the first half of the XIX century. Castiglione was conquered by the French and remained under their control until the XVII century, while with the Treaty of Lione, it became a possession of the Savoy until the unification of Italy.
- the Parish Church of San Lorenzo, in Romanesque style, in 1893 was restored and neo-Gothic features were conferred. It has a particularly rich façade, divided into three parts by two-color vertical stripes. Each side features a gateway with a portal, the side ones with archways and the central one richly decorated and surmounted by a canopy. Inside, the decorations are art works of the brothers Finati, such as the oval altar piece dating from the XVIII century, depicting the Virgin and Saints Andrew and Francis;
- the Chapel of the Confraternity of Battuti;
- the Castle, situated in a dominant position, was built by the Marquis of Saluzzo, features a square structure with circular towers, fortified walls and a garden on two levels.