The name derives from the Latin appellative "Mons Altus Rotariorum," named after the Lords, to whom it belonged. A small town in the province of Cuneo, a concentration of houses around the church of St. John, surrounded by villages and hamlets. It is famous World-wide for its gastronomic tradition with genuine local products and fine wines as: Nebiolo, Dolcetto and Barbera.
The first official mention of Montaldo dates back to 1153, but it is probable that the area was already inhabited in ancient times. In the XII century, the local rulers clashed with the town of Alba, and despite the peace agreements signed, it joined forces with Asti to fight against Alba for a long period. At the end of the century Frederick Barbarossa ceded the territory to the Lords of Cocconato in sign of gratitude for the loyalty shown to him. The latter sold the fief to the Bishop of Asti in the first half of the XIV century. In the XV century, the territory belonged to the Roero Family of Canale, then it passed to the Damiano and the Count Ludovico de Valpono. During the XVI century, the fief was granted in part to other lords, including the Colonna of Baldissero, the Scarampi and the Isnardi. The latter conquered almost the entire area and in 1680, sold it to the Marquis Carron of St.Thomas. Since 1750 the domain was divided between the feudal Lords of the Montaldo, the Scarampi and the Carron families.
Not to miss:
- the Church of St. John, recently restored, which features an apse in Romanesque style dating from the XIV century;
- the Parish of Santissima Annunziata, which outside presents Early Christian features. Within the restoration in place, since 1925, represents its original Gothic style and today features a three nave plan;
- the Church of San Giacomo, in the homonymous village, which was rebuilt in the early XVIII century;
- the Church of San Rocco, built in the village with the same name, was already mentioned in a deed dated 1354 and rebuilt in the XVII century;
- the XIX century Church of Our Lady of the Rosary;
- the imposing cylindrical watch tower, dating from the XIV century, built by the Roero.