The name seems to derive from the "gens Naevi", a noble Roman family, to whom these lands belonged in the year 100 B.C. A municipality in the province of Cuneo, located in a high position, from where it is possible to admire a wonderful view over the surrounding hills covered with vineyards, a spectacle of vivid colors and very special and ordered geometric shapes. The village is concentrated around the Clock Tower, that stands out between the elegant palaces and buildings that surround it. It features an old town with a medieval structure, crossed by narrow cobbled streets, that opens into a beautiful square, which is overlooked by the Town Hall, Palazzo Borghese and other prestigious buildings, rich of history. Throughout the area, as in the whole region, there is an important production of great wines.
The center was a Roman settlement, that benefited from its location near to the via Aemilia Scauri. In the following ages it was, for a long time, disputed between the cities of Asti and Alba and in the late XIV century it became a possession of the Visconti family. Two centuries later it submitted the domain of the French and the Spanish. In the first half of the XVI century the town was annexed to the Duchy of Savoy. For a very short period it returned to be a possession of the French, until in the second half of the XVI century it went back to the Savoy. Conquered by the Napoleonic troops in XIX century, Neve managed to achieve recognition and was proclaimed Municipality. In 1814 it was reunited to the territories of Savoy until the constitution of the Italian State.
Not to miss:
- the Church of the Confraternity of St. Michele, dating from the late XVIII century, was built by architect Borgese. It presents a brick façade in Baroque style and a Greek cross plan. Inside is preserved a fine organ;
- the Parish Church of Saints Peter and Paul, built in 1750 and designed by Gallen. It features a Neoclassical façade with pilasters and the main structure divides between one major nave and two side aisles. Inside it preserves a precious wooden choir and several interesting artworks;
- the Church of Santa Maria al Piano;
- the Church of San Sebastiano;
- the Church of San Rocco;
- the square Tower, the only remains of an ancient medieval castle, built in the XIII century and destroyed during the clashes between the towns of Asti and Alba;
- the Town Hall with its arches and white façade surrounded by dials, interrupted by balconies and windows surmounted by small gables. An original touch of color is given by the municipal coat of arms placed under its clock;
- the XVIII century Palace of the Counts of Castelborgo, with its adjoining garden, which today houses a winery;
- the Palazzo Borgese, birthplace and residence of the homonymous architect;
- the XVI century Palazzo of the Countess Demaria;
- the XVIII century Palazzo Bongioanni Cocito;
- the XIII century Casaforte (stronghold) of the Counts Cotti di Ceres;
- the gateway San Rocco.