A mountain village in the province of Belluno, located in the most northern area of the Veneto region, Comelico Superior is a town scattered between the hills and includes in addition to the main centre, four districts and three hamlets, each with its own characteristics, history and art and be equally immersed in a spectacular environment. The municipality, located between 1000 and almost 3100 meters of altitude, is also on the border with Trentino Alto Adige and Austria. The area features several attractions, such as: the sulphurous waters of Valgrande and the ski resort of Pandola and several lakes.
The area of Cadore was inhabited since Prehistory Ages, as evidenced by the several important archaeological finds, including cemeteries and inscriptions. Later it became the homeland of Ligurian, Illyrians, Venetians, Gauls and Celts. Subsequently colonized by the Romans, they had built a road which linked Val Pusteria to Auronzo. To the Romans succeeded Heruli, Ostrogoths, Franks, Byzantines and Lombards. Around year 1000 several settlements grew in the area near to Comelico, which subjected the domain of the Patriarchate of Aquileia, that proclaimed a fief and granted the lands to the Da Camino Family. In the XIII century, the local authorities imposed a series of "regole" (a regulation of the lands), later cancelled by Napoleon, while in the XV century the area submitted the domain of the Serenissima Republic of Venice. After a short period of Napoleonic government and Austrian domain, the Cadore area was annexed to Italy.
- the Church of Santa Maria Assunta in Candide which has ancient origins. The present building dates from the XVIII century and was designed by Del Fabbro. Inside are preserved frescoes by Giovanni De Min, artworks by the artists D'Andreis, Del Rossi and Reni;
- the Church of St. Luke the Evangelist in Padola, built in the second half of the XIX century, houses the works of Da Rin and Vecellio;
- the Church of Saints Rocco and Osvaldo in Dosoledo, built in 1844, houses frescoes of De Min and other valuable works;
- the Church of Sant'Antonio Abate in Candide, which is the oldest of the area. Destroyed by fire at the beginning of the XVI century, it was later rebuilt;
- the new Church of San Leonardo, built in 1870, contains valuable artworks of Ghedina and Da Rin;
- the ancient Church of San Leonardo in Casamazzagno of 1545, in the Gothic style;
- the Church of Our Lady of Grace, built in the second half of the XIX century in Padola;
- the late XVII century Church of St. Anne in Padola;
- the Museum of Alpine Culture of Comelico, located in the center of Padola;
- the XVII century Casa Gera, located in the center of Candide;
- the XVII century Casa Giacobbi in Candide;
- Palazzo Zandonella in Dosoledo;
- Lake St Anne