Darfo Boario Terme is one of the most important municipalities of Val Camonica, located at the confluence of the rivers Dezzo and Oglio, where they flow into the valley Scalve. For the historians the town's name derives from "Garf" (sliding ground) or "dorf" (village, in the Germanic languages).
The area was inhabited since the prehistoric times: in the Park of Luine, stone carvings have been found which date back to 6000 B.C. and the area has been declared by UNESCO a World Heritage Site. Other carvings have been discovered near Lake Moro, whilst a bronze axe has been brought to light on the Monticolo. The area offers poor evidence of Roman domination, whilst from the period of barbarian invasions, there are traces of a necropolis in the district of Corna near the town hall.
The town is also famous for the presence of spa facilities that feature a water with important healing properties, which have been documented since 1496, and were already appreciated by Alessandro Manzoni.
In the Parish of Darfo, dedicated to San Faustino, cited in the IX century, it is possible to admire a series of fine XVIII century frescoes. Of the XV century, instead, are the frescoes of the interiors of the Palazzo Federici. In the district of Gorzone stands a castle of the XV, result of the enlargement of a tower-house that the family Federici built in the XII century, after receiving the control of the fief from Frederick Barbarossa,. Interesting is also the Church of Santa Maria del Restello, in the district of Erbanno, which dates back to the early XVI century, with remarkable frescoes by the artist Callisto Piazza in the presbytery.