On the town's name, the historians seem not to concord. It could derive from the Germanic "Olomund" (name of person) or from the Ligurian name "Alabontem". It is a town situated at the foot of the Grand Combin, at 1350 meters above sea level, at the center of the green and sunny Ollomont Valley, and from here it is possible to admire the beautiful valley of Gran San Bernardo, full of meadows, flowers, forests, pastures, meadows and wildlife. Tourism is favored by the particular beauty of the area and its tranquility. Ollomont features goal climbing mountains like the Grand Combin and Mount Velan, Mount Gele, Mount Avril at more than 3300 meters and Fentrate Durand at more than 2800 meters, or the possibility to just take a walk in the grassy valley of By, where there is a small lake. Ollomont also features a well equipped ski lift and a slope of 1 km with an installation for artificial snow. Worth of interest the excursions to Lake Cornet, the lakes of Thoules or Lake Fenêtre. The region proposes culinary specialties, from the Fontina to the Modzetta cheese; from the dried sausages to the Boudin, from the black bread to the famous Valpellinentze soup, in addition to fine wines. The town also features a flourishing craft of wooden objects.
The settlement already existed at the time when the Salassi, an antique population with Celt origins, made livestock and metal trade through the pass Fenetre Durand. The district was also an important center of copper mining until 1945. Of the mining area in the district of Rey, still visible are the dormitories, the canteen and the warehouses used by the workers of the mines, since 1800. It is believed that Italo Calvino (a famous Italian writer) sheltered here during escape towards Switzerland, through the Fenetre Durand in 1536. The first president of the Italian Republic "Einaudi" also sheltered here in September 1943 when he tried to reach Switzerland to avoid the Nazi-Fascists. In later years, he returned to the area to spend his holidays.
Not to miss:
The Parish Church of St. Augustine in the Baroque style, dating back to 1775, overlooks the central square. It originally featured only one nave, but in 1868 the two aisles were added, the portal is preceded by a small porch, the Bell tower proposes two orders of mullioned windows. Inside the Baptistery is preserved a pulpit by sculptor Fumasoli of Aosta, a valuable framework placed on the altar by pupils of the Royal Accademia Albertina in Turin and the railing in front of the main altar in polychrome marble, bears the coat of arms of the family Perrone of San Martino, who donated all the marbles used to embellish the church.
The Chapel of San Pantaleone in Vaud preserves a cycle of frescoes dating back to 1443, commissioned by the priest of Valpelline, Jean Rosset of Ollomont.