The name derives from the Latin "Duae Viae", due to its location on a forked road that reached the other side of the Alps: one brings to the Valley crossing of the Great St. Bernard, the other leads to Fenetre Durand. A Rural municipality located in the Valpelline area at more than 1110 meters above sea level, surrounded by beautiful mountains, Doues offers the opportunity to its visitors to hike into the valley of By and practice mountaineering and skiing and entering into contact with ancient culinary traditions that the locals have carefully and jealously guarded over the centuries. It is famous for its black bread, produced by traditional ovens, and is salami products, such as: motzetta, budins and saucisses. This most popular traditional sport of the area is the Rebatta.
During the Middle Ages, Doues was the main center of the dominion of the Lords of Gignod. In 1240, it was ceded to the Lords of Quart and then to the House of Savoy. In 1543 the Lord of Doues was Nicola de la Crete and later Jean François de la Crete, the most important member of this dynasty, who became Baron in 1584 and acquired all the lands of Comba Freida. The fief belonged to the Pallavicini-La Crete family until 1780, when the town was liberated from the constraints of feudalism. It is documented that Luigi Einaudi stayed in By during his escape from the fascists through the pass of Col Fenetre. It seems that even Calvin stayed in Doues in 1536 during his journey to Switzerland, accompanied by a member of the family member La Crete.
Not to miss:
The Parish Church built in 1790, is dedicated to San Biagio. The building incorporates an existing chapel, built by the lords of La Crete. Inside it preserves frescoes of the artist Mazzini, completed in 1943.
The Chapel of Chatellair, entitled to SS. Trinity and the oldest of the area.
The Chapels of Champsavinal and Torrent, dedicated to Saints Fabiano and Sebastiano, and both erected in 1630 after the tragic epidemic of plague.
The Chapel of Champillon, built in 1680 at over 2000 meters above sea level and entitled to Our Lady of the Snows.
The Chapel of Aillan, entitled to Saint Margaret, built in the XVIII century.
The Castle of La Crete in the village of La Cretaz, located not far from the main center of the region. It is one of the most important architectural and historical sites of the area and features a circular tower. The castle was the residence of the Lords of La Crete.