Municipality of the countryside of Pisa, located along the route that leads between Volterra and the nearby provincial capital, Peccioli stands on a hill, which dominates the Valley dell'Era. The town's name derives from the Latin word "picea" (wild pine) and the presence of a settlement is certified for the first time in a document of 793. Nevertheless, the history of Peccioli is officially documented only from the XII century, when the Counts of Gherardesca ceded the little town to the Bishop of Volterra. After a period of rule of Pisa, in 1406 it passed to Florence, suffering the looting by the anti-Medici faction and fomenting riots against the house of the Medici. Political and economic stability was regained only after the complete submission to the Grand Duchy of the Medici.
Sites of Interest:
- the Church of San Verano (XI century), a masterpiece of Bellincioni, in which are preserved some remarkable artworks of the Pisan school. A three nave plan building, divided by brick columns with stone capitals and features a magnificent XVII century coffered ceiling;
- the Church of Santa Maria Assunta, a beautiful example of Romanesque architecture, is already mentioned in documents of the X century. The current structure dates from the XII century and has been renovated several times over the centuries. It is divided into three naves and stores a series of glazed terracotta decorative elements, attributed to the artist Buglione;
- the Oratory of the Santissima Annunziata, in Gothic style;
- the Chapel of St. Catherine;
- the Church of Our Lady del Carmine;
- the Praetorian Palace, whose façade features the town's coats of arms and houses the Museum of Russian Icons, which is dedicated to the journalist Francesco Bigazzi;
- the Astronomical Observatory "Galileo Galilei" in Libbiano;
- the Prehistoric Park with fiberglass reconstructions of prehistoric animals.