Even if the village of Riparbella developed during the Middle Age, many Etruscan remains were found here and hosted at important Italian and International museums, such as Moscow (a golden cornucopia), Berlin and Amsterdam (earthen and copper vases) and a funeral equipment at the Guarnacci Museum in Volterra. The place name is mentioned for the first time in a document dated to 1034 and derives from the compound of the Latin "riva", that literally means "bank", and of "albella", coming this latter from the Latin "albus" with the meaning of "white", with propable reference to the tufaceous rock on which the town rises.
The built-up area developed around one castle, belonging to the Gherardesca Counts, that was razed to the ground in 1466. Riparbella which had always been a property of the Archbishopric of Pisa, was part of the rich range of Pisan cities annexed to the Florentine seigniory in 1406 after the decline of the Republic of Pisa.
In addition to the remains of the Strido castle, we also suggest to visit the Church of San Giovanni Evangelista (XIX century), the monumental graveyard, projected by Luigi Bellincioni and declared National monument, and the XVI century Oratory of Madonna delle Grazie.