It is a small village with a typical medieval aspect of the province of Viterbo, inhabited since ancient times by the Etruscans, at first, and by the Roman, later, as evidenced by the findings of tombs, houses, columns and stones dating back to these historical periods. After the examination of documents and records, historians agree in dating the origins of Civitella to the XI century and its castle was erected by the Counts of Bagnoregio, whose descendants, after a while, changed their name to Monaldeschi. After repeated clashes with the Papal States, the Apostolic Chamber, in 1415, exiled the Monaldeschi. In 1564 the town was proclaimed municipality and, in 1870, it was annexed by the Kingdom of Italy.
Sites of Interest:
- the Rocca Monaldesca, with its imposing ramparts, that overlooks the village;
- the XV century Priory Church of Saints Peter and Callisto, remodeled in the XX century and built on the ruins of an pre-existing Benedictine church built around year 1000;
- the Church of the Madonna delle Grazie, in which was discovered and restored a valuable XV century fresco attributed to the artist Pastura;
- The XV Church of the Convent, located outside the town.