Questo sito o gli strumenti terzi da questo utilizzati si avvalgono di cookie necessari al funzionamento ed utili alle finalità illustrate nella cookie policy. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie, consulta la cookie policy. Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina, cliccando su un link o proseguendo la navigazione in altra maniera, acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.

Accetta

 

english

  • Palazzo Avino

    Palazzo Avino

    Charming Luxury 5 Stars Hotel Accommodation in Ravello on the Amalfi Coast Salerno Campania Italy

  • Private Tour in Italy

    Private Tour in Italy

    Private driver, exclusive excursions, Transfers and Private Cab, Sorrento, Neapolitan Riviera, Rome, Livorno, Florence, Amalfi...

  • Hotel Pietra di Luna Maiori

    Hotel Pietra di Luna Maiori

    Quality 4 Stars Hotel Accommodation Meeting Center Swimming Pool Maiori Neapolitan Riviera Amalficoast Naples Sorrento Amalfi...

  • Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina

    Hotel Villa Ducale Taormina

    Charming Boutique Hotel Quality 4 Stars Hotel Rooms and Breakfast Accommodation Taormina Sicily Italy

  • Hotel Il Gabbiano Positano

    Hotel Il Gabbiano Positano

    Quality Small Hotel Bed and Breakfast Accommodation Neapolitan Riviera Amalficoast Naples Sorrento Positano Amalfi Salerno Campania...

you are here: Home Friuli Venezia Giulia Friuli's Hinterland Mariano del Friuli

Stay

Visit a locality browsing the menu on the left. In each Italy area you can then choose the best touristical structures we are proposing.

More About

Here you can find info and tips about the area you are visiting.

Print this page Send to a friend by e-mail

Share:
fb-like
g-plus

Mariano del Friuli

Description

The town's name derives the proper Latin name of a person "Marianus", a Roman centurion assigned to this area, to start a new farming colony. Municipality in the province of Gorizia, located at the center of the Isonzo plain, it consists of two main districts: Mariano and Corona. The town is famous for its craftsmen, specialized in handmade chairs since the XVIII century, and for the production of fine wines and food specialties. The whole centre is characterized by typical rural houses with courtyards.
It was founded by the Romans around the year 181 B.C., in the same period in which the town of Aquileia was founded, as evidenced by the name and the discovery of artifacts related to time. It was invaded by the Turks in the second half of the XV century and involved in clashes with Venetian troops in the XVII century. Conquered by the Venetians, the town was fortified and became their headquarters. In the following centuries it was invaded by Habsburg and French troops and subsequently shared the same fate and historical events that marked the whole Friuli Region until its annexation to the Italian State.

Attractions:
- the Church of San Gottardo, built in 1756, which presents a façade of white stone, in Baroque style, designed by the Milanese architect Paolo Baroffi. Divided into two parts, the lower is delineated by pilasters and enriched with niches, the upper divided from the first by a major frame, features particular smoother Rococo style lines. Inside are preserved several valuable altars: the main one is of 1804, a lateral XVIII century one is enriched by a wooden statue of the Madonna and Child dating from the XX century, while another one features a panel painted by Tominiz in 1825. Here are also preserved a series of frescoes depicted by the artist Iustulin;
- the Church of the Holy Trinity, built in 1550, is decorated with an important cycle of frescoes representing the Apostles, dating from the XVI century and attributed to the Negro, and an XVIII century marble altar;
- the Church of SS Mary and Zeno in Corona, which was built in 1705 replacing the old church destroyed in 1699. The very simple and sober façade is surmounted by a tympanum. The church is flanked by a Bell Tower with a square base. Inside it is possible to admire the main altar designed by Lazzarini in 1729, with statues by Zuliani. Famous is the altar of St. Catherine, dating from the XVIII century, adorned with an altarpiece by Paroli and the Way of the Cross painted by de Finetti in 1950.

Map

This town web page has been visited 30,537 times.

Choose language

italiano

english