Municipality in the province of Udine, located in an area of springs, along the ford of the river Tagliamento, Codroipo, in the second half of the XIX century, although part of the Italian territory, remained on the margins of industrial and commercial development, that, on the contrary , characterized all the other Italian localities. Today this gap has been filled and the industrial, handicraft, trade and service sectors have grown. Considerable is the production of fine and appreciated wines.
The Romans built here a settlement and two roads, one leading to Rome and one in Germany. It became a garrison and then, with the fall of the Roman Empire, remaining without any control or security, the town was easy prey for the Barbarian invaders, so the local inhabitants fortified the settlement to defend themselves from looting and destruction. Codroipo was subsequently attacked by Huns, Lombards, Franks and Hungarians. Under the domain of the Lombards, the town became the seat of a Duchy and had a period of prosperity and development, while with the arrival of the Hungarians, the inhabitants proved a long period of depopulation and decline of the territories. Around the year 1000, the Emperor Ottone granted the domain over the lands, including this small center of Central Friuli, to the Patriarch of Aquileia, who exercised his domain over the area until the first half of the XV century, when the Republic of Venice took over the command. Shortly later the town was ceded to Austria, until it was conquered back by the Serenissima. From the late XVIII century until the second half of the XIX, Codroipo returned to the Kingdom of the Habsburgs and finally became part of the Kingdom of Italy.
Not to miss:
- the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore, which preserves behind the main altar, in a lunette, a painting depicting the Assumption, artwork completed in 1958 by Renzo Tubaro, to replace the previous works of Barazzutti, destroyed during the bombing of the Second World War;
- Villa Manin in Passariano, which was the last residence of the Doges of Venice in the Friuli region;
- Villa Manin-Kechler in the district of San Martino;
- Villa Marchetti-Granzotto in Biauzzo;
- Villa Colloredo-Mels in Muscletto;
- the Archaeological Museum, a permanent display of exhibits from the Prehistoric Ages to the Renaissance;
- the Museum of Coaches, inside which are on display more than 40 classic coaches with their accessories and has a section devoted to toys, dating between the XIX and XX centuries, from different parts of the World and a collection of sacred vestments.