The town's name seems to derive from the personal Latin name "Amantius ", probably the name of the first Roman centurion, to whom the lands were assigned. Municipality in the province of Udine, located on the banks of the River Natisone, surrounded by hills that protect it and make its climate favorable for the cultivation of vines that produce excellent wines, it is famous for its long tradition of handicraft production of furniture.
It seems that the first settlement was the Roman one, lacking evidence of the presence of other populations in the territory before the arrival of the armies of Rome. The name on the other hand, seems to confirm this hypothesis. At the Fall of the Empire, the area was unprotected and easily conquered by the Lombards, the Avari and the Hungarians. The arrival of these invaders pushed the population to build fortresses to protect themselves. The local economy obtained a strong development for productive activities thanks to the presence of the Augustinian monks, who had settled in the Abbey of Rosazzo. In 1090 Manzano was under the domain of a strong German family, that were directly involved in the struggles between the Patriarch of Aquileia and the Count of Gorizia. In the second half of the XV century the town was attacked and devastated by the Turks and at the beginning of the next century, it was seriously damaged by a fire inflicted by the troops of the Duke of Brunswick.
- the Church of San Martino, whose construction date is uncertain, it is assumed to be between the XII and XIII centuries. Of the original building, struck by lightning and seriously damaged, remains only the apse in Gothic style and a small Bell Tower;
- the Abbey of Rosazzo, built around year 1000, was an important religious and cultural centre. Directly involved in all the clashes that succeeded over the centuries, it was destroyed in the early XVI century. A few years later the Abbot Gilberti had the church of San Pietro rebuilt and decorated with frescoes by the painter Torbido of Verona. The structure was transformed into a private residence in the XIX century;
- the Church of St. John the Baptist and St. Nicholas in Oleis, which was built in the XIX century on the remains of a pre-existing church, demolished because too small for the needs of the faithful. It features a single nave plan and semicircular apse in Gothic style. The construction of the Bell Tower dates back to 1874;
- the Church of Sant'Egidio in Poggiobello, dating back to 1714, it features a rectangular plan and semicircular apse;
- the Church of Santa Maria Assunta, built using the stones from the original parish church of San Martino;
- the Oratory Boschetti;
- the Church of St. Thomas;
- the Church Oasis;
- the Castle, dating from the XVI century and of which remain only ruins. It dominates in a high location, from where it could control of the entire surrounding areas;
- the XVII century Villa Ottelio;
- the XVIII century Villa Brazza Martinengo.