The town's name derives from the Latin "castrum Nemas". It is a municipality in the province of Udine, whose territory is surrounded by hills and Pre-Alps Giulie, which protect the area from the cold winds, creating a favorable climate for cultivations. Orderly rows of vines in a perfect geometric design cover the hills that surround the village. Nimis is famous for producing of fine D.O.C. wines, such as Ramandolo and a series of local traditional delicacies.
The main center has Roman origins, as evidenced by the name itself. During the period of the Roman colonization, the area was subject to a development of the passage of goods and pilgrims on the road connecting with Cividale, which, at the times, was already connected to the consular road that linked Aquileia to Norico. This main artery was also of extreme importance in the Middle Ages. At fall of the Roman Empire, the area suffered the domain of the Lombards. In the second half of the XII century, the Marquis of Tuscany, Voldarico donated the castle of Cergneu to the Patriarch of Aquileia, that some time later, was granted in fief to the noble Family of Savorgnano. During the later periods the town experienced the same historical events that characterized the whole region of Friuli.
Not to miss:
- the VI century Church of San Gervasio and Protasio, originally had a rectangular plan and a gabled roof. In the IX century, the building was enlarged and flanked by a Bell Tower, which was demolished in the next century. Rebuilt after the earthquake of 1348, the Parish church that has survived, features three naves, a square plan apse and side chapels dating from the XVII century. Inside, the church preserves a XII century baptistery and a series of frescoes, located in the arches of the nave, depicting characters from the Old and New Testaments, realized in the late XIX century by the artist Gori. The same author also painted the frescoes on the vault of the choir and inside two chapels. The nearby massive Bell tower features a square base and is interrupted by beautiful mullioned windows;
- the Church of San Mauro, cited in a document dated 1356, was probably rebuilt in the XIV and XV centuries and later restored. It features a simple façade and a gabled roof, with one nave and semicircular apse, flanked by a Bell Tower built in more recent times;
- the Church of Our Lady of Pianelle, which was originally built in the XV century, the current structure features a XVII century façade surmounted by a pediment and preceded by a porch. The plan is rectangular with a square apse and inside preserves frescoes by Monai. The XVII century Bell Tower has a square base with a series of two light arched windows. Inside it preserves a main altar of the XVIII century;
- the late XV century Church of San Giovanni Battista, completed in subsequent years, features a single nave plan and a massive Bell Tower with mullioned windows. Inside are preserved frescoes attributed to the artist Thanner, dating back to 1530, and a wooden statue of the XVI century;
- the Church of San Giorgio was built around the IV-VI centuries;
- the remains of a Lombard settlement in the hills between Torlano and Vallemontana;
- the remains of the medieval Castle of the Lords of Cergneu, abandoned in the XVI century.