The town's name derives from the nearby presence of the river Corno, named so because it forms numerous loops along its way through the lands, and from "rose", with the adding of the suffix "-àceo", referring to the presence of several rose gardens and European Cornel trees. Municipality in the province of Udine, sheltered by a beautiful amphitheatre of hills, the economy is based on the local handicraft, industries, the cultivation of vines and its natural heritage.
The area was already inhabited during the Mesolithic Ages, while the discovery of Roman remains evidence the colonization of the area by the Romans, who built here a road that linked Isonzo to Cividale. During the Middle Ages, the town submitted the domain of the Patriarchs of Aquileia, that, in the XII century, ceded the lands to the Abbey of Rosazzo. The first mention of the town's existence is in a historical text of the XIII century, when, at that time, the area was ruled by local Lords. In the XV century the domain passed to the Republic of Venice and at the same time, the Patriarch Ludovico of Teck, that in an attempt to regain the territories, occupied and destroyed a large area, including the town of Corno, while in the XVI century, it was devastated by the troops of the Duke of Brunswick. Subsequently the town passed to Austria and finally was incorporated into the Kingdom of Italy.
- the XV century Parish Church of Santa Maria del Rosario, which was renovated and enlarged in 1674 and preserves inside an XVIII century organ;
- the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Help, built in mid XVII century and refurbished in 1843. It keeps a wooden statue of the Madonna and Child;
- the XIII century Church of St. James the Apostle in Noax. Renovated and expanded in later centuries, it preserves frescoes of the late XIV and early XVI century and a polychrome marble altar of the XVIII century with a fine altarpiece of the artist Zuccolo;
- the XV century Church of San Leonardo in Gramogliano, which was restored in the XVIII century. It preserves inside two frescoes by Jacum Pitor;
- the Church of San Michele Arcangelo in Casali Gallo, the construction probably dates back to the XIV century and features a series of XVIII century frescoes depicting the Apostles;
- the Church of San Martino in Visinale, which was built on the ruins of a pre-existing structure of the XIV century and later demolished and rebuilt completely;
- the Church of St. Andrew the Apostle, built in the XIX century on the remains of a previous building of the XI century;
- the Abbey of Rosazzo, founded in the X century, it has always been an important religious and cultural centre. Directly involved in several clashes, that succeeded over the centuries, it was destroyed in the early XVI century. A few years later the abbot Gilbert rebuilt the church of San Pietro and had it decorated with frescoes of the artist of Verona, Torbido. In the XIX century the structure was transformed into a private residence and today belongs to a foundation;
- the Castle of Gramogliano, already mentioned since the XIII century and belonged to the Lords with the same name. During the period, when it was owned by the Herbenstein, it was destroyed by the Patriarch Nicolò of Luxembourg and later rebuilt in the XV century by the Counts of Gorizia. It then passed to the Counts Zucco-Ciccagna and was devastated by the troops of the Duke of Brunswick. Today of the existing five towers remains only the central one;
- Villa Torriani, with its typical medieval structure in the shape of a horseshoe, was built by the Counts Zucco-Cuccagna in the XIII century. Later remodelled several times, it features very little of the original structure;
- the XVIII century Villa Trento in Godia;
- the XVIII century Villa Moroldi.
- Villa-Bigozzi Cabassi;
- the Medieval House in Noax.