Town in the province of Como, until 1928 the territory of Montano and of Lucino were constituted in two separate administrative centers. The earliest human settlements dates back to 3500 B.C., thanks to the archeological remains found of a Neolithic village. The town's name, however, has Roman origins and seems to derive from "montanus (mountain) and" lucinus ", short for" Lucus "(sacred grove).
There are numerous sites of historical interest of the area, starting with the Castle of Lucina, destroyed in 1247 by the troops of Milan. It belonged to the noble family of Avogadro and, thanks to its strategic location, it had a significant role in conflicts between Como and Milan.
Among the religious buildings worth of mention: the Parish of St. George in Lucino, built in the XVI century, in the Parish of St. Andrew Montano, built in 1948 and the Oratory of the Madonna delle Grazie of the XIV century.