Tremezzo (Lands in the Middle , because of its location, half way between the Po Valley and the pass of the Grisons) is a beautiful village in the province of Como, located on the Western shore of Lake Como, opposite Bellagio, stretching from the shores of the lake to the hilly hinterland to the foot of Mount Crocione. It is mentioned for the first time in a document of 880 with the name of Curt Tremecia, while the current name appears only around the year 1000. Allied with Milan during the Middle Ages, it was destroyed and burned by the Comaschi, supported by Barbarossa. The town experienced a period of considerable development during the XVII century, in coincidence with the construction of luxurious villas and impressive, that still exist.
Among the major sights of Tremezzo: the Villa Carlotta, built in a natural basin between lake and mountains at the end of 1600 by the Marquis Giorgio Clerici, but it was in the XIX century, with Giambattista Sommariva, the subsequent owner, that the villa reached its highest splendor, enriching art and becoming a real museum. With more than 70.000mq of gardens and museums, Villa Carlotta is the perfect synthesis of the blend of art masterpieces and of nature here, in fact, next to a well-kept park, it is possible to admire masterpieces by Canova and his famous atelier, by Thorvaldsen and by Hayez, like "Palamedes", "Cupid and Psyche", "Terpsichore", the monumental frieze with the scene of the arrival of Alexander the Great in Babylon, the last kiss of Romeo and Juliet, icon of Italian Romantica period .
Among other villas worth of mention: Villa La Quiete in the village of Bolvedro, built in the XVIII century by the Dukes of Carretto; Villa La Carlia, dating from the second half of the XVII century, which features sober architectural lines; Villa Amilia, built between 1931 and 1932 on project of architect Pietro Lingeri.
Religious monuments of great historic importance and artistic are: the Church of San Lorenzo, a remarkable example of rationalist architecture of the XIX century and the Church of Santa Maria, in which houses the statue of the Black Madonna, transported in 1917 by a family of Swiss Catholics from the basilica of Einsiedeln.