Town in the province of Lecco, Vercurago (whose name shows its Celtic origins), until the establishment of the boundaries of the Lecco province, it was the border point between the provinces of Como and Bergamo, built exactly on the old border line between the Republic of Venice and the State of Milan. The earliest settlements date back to the "Civilization of Golasecca" (IX-V century B.C.); whilst the Romans built here an ancient road, a branch of the Bergamo-Como.
The Castle, known as of the Innominato ("Unnamed", also a character in the famous "Promesi Sposi" of the author Manzoni), is located at 5 km from Lecco, at about 180 meters above the lake of Como, but within walking distance. It was a stronghold, built to defend the border between the Duchy of Milan and the Republic of Venice, but it was destroyed and abandoned after the war of the Lega of Cambrai (1509). It can be reached from Vercurago, through a path, that is flanked by chapels and woods. The remains of the castle is a square enclosure with a crumbling tower, which in 1902 became a chapel in remembrance of St. Gerolamo Emiliani.
Among the religious buildings worth of mention: the Parish Church of Saints Gervasio and Protasio, already mentioned in a document of 814, and the Sanctuary of St. Gerolamo Miani.