The town's name derives from the influence, imprinted by the Romans during the Ages of their Empire, because it is the mix of the suffix "anus" to which is added the proper name "Lunius", although the popular traditions report that it derives from "Lupignanum", which means a place haunted by wolves.
Municipality in the province of Udine, its center and districts stretch between the Adriatic sea and the Lagoon of Marano, on the peninsula on the left hand side of the mouth of the river Tagliamento. It is a very famous and popular summer holiday resort and features important touristic and spa facilities. The town, which has been adapted to the shape of a small triangle, surrounded by a superb green environment and is divided into three main districts: Lignano Sabbiadoro, Lignano Pineda and Lignano Riviera.
The area was colonized by the Romans, as clearly demonstrated by its name of certain Latin origins. In 1420, Lignano became part of the Venetian Republic, that was ceded in fief to various noble families, such as, the Family of Vendramin, Lords of Latisana. In the early XIX century, the port of Lignano assumed increasing importance and a small settlement has founded in that area. In some maps of the XVI and XVII centuries, the town was represented as a small strip of land is the woodland, interrupted only by a small pile of houses, inhabited mostly by fishermen. Before April 1903, Lignano was a small possession of the Republics of Venice and Marano. It gained fame thanks to its considerable touristic development in the following years.
- the XV century Church of Santa Maria, which till 1965 was located in Bevazzana and rebuilt here between the pines of Lignano Sabbiadoro, to save it from the erosion of the river Tagliamento. Inside are preserved several precious frescoes of the XV century and a stoup sculptured by the artist Pilacorte;
- the Church of San Zaccaria in Lignano Pineda;
- the Zoo of Punta Verde, located on the left bank of the Tagliamento, not far from the sea, where numerous species of exotic animals find shelter;
- Villa Zuzzi, built back in 1910, is located on the waterfront, in Gothic style with the addition of Liberty style elements;
- the ancient farm buildings in Lignano Pineda, which date back to 1677;
- the Grand hotel built in 1930 by the architect Zanini.