A municipality in the province of Gorizia, located on a narrow strip of land that separate the lagoon from the sea, Grado is famous for its long sandy beach and the little old town, made up of fishermen's cottages, which includes some jewels of early Christian architecture. The town's structure is a typical Roman "castrum": it has a rectangular shape, with smaller streets that branch off the main road. The oldest part was originally surrounded by walls that are now only partially visible, being part of the structure of some houses.
The first settlement was born in Roman times, built as a port of the nearby Aquileia. In the Middle Ages, when the surrounding territories were invaded by Huns and Lombards, the Bishops of Aquileia found shelter here from the Barbarian invasions. The town acquired great importance during the VII century, when, after the schism of the patriarchs of Aquileia, it became seat of its own patriarch. In the second half of the XV century Venice, stronger in forces, absorbed the patriarchal seat of Grado and this event determined a period of decline. The city was submitted to the domain of Austria from 1787 until 1918, when it passed to the Kingdom of Italy. At the end of the XIX century the city devoted its resources to tourism and has become a famous and well-equipped seaside resort.
- the Church of St. Euphemia, built in the early Christian period and rebuilt in the VI century. It features wide open spaces, a rectangular structure with a circular apse which is interrupted by three windows. The major nave is separated from the side by a row of columns and is illuminated by two series of lancet windows on each side, at different heights. In the left hand corner there is a unique pulpit with an oriental coverage. The floor features a polychrome mosaic of the V century and betrays its oriental influences. It is flanked by a Bell Tower of the XV century, where there is a statue of St. Michael, and an octagonal Baptistery dating from the V century. Inside it preserves a gilded silver altarpiece of the XIV century with figures of saints;
- the Church of Santa Maria delle Grazie, built between the IV-VI centuries and altered in the XVII century, is characterized by a very simple and compact outer structure with three doorways which are the entrances of the three aisles separated by columns, each of which is enriched capitals of different shapes. Inside it features the so-called "regula", which represents the separation of the main altar from the rest of the church. In general, the structure reveals Byzantine influences similar to those proposed in Ravenna;
- the remains of the Western Gate;
- the Great Gate.