The town's name derives from the Latin person's name "Travinus" and the addition of the suffix "-anus ", which denotes membership, " Land of Travinus". Probably, the name of the Roman centurion to whom the lands were assigned, as for their customs. It is a municipality in the province of Udine, located in the lowlands of Friuli, whose territory, in addition to the main centre, includes several districts and nearby villages, including Clauiano, a small rural village which has preserved intact its architectural character, typical in Friuli. Departure point for memorable excursions, not far from Palmanova, Aquileia, Cividale, Grado, Redipuglia, Santa Maria La Longa, which are all rich in history and works of art.
The numerous objects of the Roman era, found in the area, attest the colonization of the Empire and its permanent presence here. The first historical document which proves the existence of a settlement dates back to 1184, a time when this area was dominated by the Patriarchate of Aquileia, an institution founded in 1077 and continued until 1420, when it was conquered by the Venetians. The town also submitted the domain of the Count of Gorizia. The history of Trivignano was marked by long-standing struggle between the Venetian Serenissima Republic and the Habsburg Empire for dominance in the region of Friuli. The conflict came to an end only in the first half of the XVI century with the treaty of Worms, when the territories were assigned to the Republic of Venice until the stipulation of the Treaty of Campoformio, when it was ceded to Austria till the abolition of feudalism in 1866.
- the Parish Church of San Teodoro Martire, which was rebuilt in the XVII century in place of an existing building of the XIV century, damaged by fire. It presents itself in Baroque style, with a single nave with four chapels, that feature XVIII century statues representing the saints Peter and Paul and is flanked by a beautiful Bell Tower. Inside are preserved frescoes of the XVI century, attributed to the artist Secant, others of the XVIII century, artwork of Molinari and some of the XX century, artwork of Zorzi, a XVII century altarpiece of St. Theodore and a marble statue representing the Madonna del Rosario;
- the Church of San Michele in Selda, cited, for the first time, in a document of the first half of the XIV century, was recently restored in the 80s of the XX century. It features a rectangular nave plan and a raised semicircular apse. Inside are preserved a XVI century altar and a contemporary stone baptismal font;
- the XVII century Villa Rubini Cipollato Orgnani, which is a structure surrounded by a park and walls with battlements. The main building features a beautiful two flight staircase and the structure is topped by a pediment decorated with statues;
- the XVII century Villa Valvason Strassoldo Attems in Clauiano;
- the Villa of the Counts of Maniago.